Uninvited guests

Yes, that’s my oven.

No, I’m not (completely) mental.

Let me introduce my new housemate:

Ok, strictly speaking the dude above probably isn’t my actual housemate… but ya get the picture ๐Ÿ™‚

There I was, yesterday morning, happily eating my breakfast and avoiding the thought of the mission of a day I knew was coming, when I caught a movement out of the corner of my eye, looked round, and saw Mickey, sitting there on the floorย as bold as brass.

I may have jumped about a foot in the air. It’s possible I shouted something along the lines of “get out of my house!” It’s likely I then manically pulled everything edible and accesible out of my food cupboard, stashing some of it in saucepans and covered roasting tins, to keep it out of the little bugger’s reach.

I then went out at lunchtime and bought a (humane) trap and a plug-in device which apparently emits a sound at a frequency unbearable to rodents. This means war, Bucko.

I then had the genius idea, if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ™‚ , of putting the food in the bottom oven. I hardly ever use it and it’s definitely mouse-proof, however mental it might appear…!

I suppose, given that I live in a very old house, it wasn’t unexpected but seriously; mice?! I don’t want them in my house! I felt almost embarrassed to tell anyone, like it reflected on how clean my house is… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

But as I only found one poo, and saw that one mouse, I’m crossing my fingers the trap/sonic boom approach will sort it. If any mouse messes with my food, he’s toast.

And talking of toast, and in a related way, breakfast… ๐Ÿ™‚

It also annoyed me that the mouse distracted me from this:

One of Ashley’s buckwheat bakes.

I hadย mine withย more banana and some coconut cream and coconut butter on top andย it was un. believable ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s similar-ish to the microwave muffins but, as Ashley says, buckwheat has some amazing powers – I ate that at 7am-ish and wasn’t even slightly hungry by 1pm which is unheard-of! I think I might have to make some more, just to check…

And it was one of the high spots of the day. I was editing, so a deadline day was never going to br great, then I had to go to a late meeting after work and didn’t get home till about 9.30pm and to bed till about 11.40pm. Then up at 6am to get the paper to press this morning… can you hear the violins playing yet?!

So I’m off to climb the wooden hills to Bedfordshire (as my nan used to put it, bless her heart) any minute – and hoping I don’t get woken up by any scurrying mousey paws…. eek!

Has anyone else ever had uninvited “guests”??! How did you get rid of them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Uninvited guests

  1. AHH not a very nice guest!! ive never had that guest.. but i did have some nasty ant farm in my kitchen once.. EW.. i love your bake!

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Sorry about the uninvited guest! The bake looks lovely though, love that topping idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Aww, poor mousie! Sorry, I know I am irritating and strange but I’m always the one trying to save spiders from being squished and ushering wasps out of windows instead of swatting them. With all of the crumbs I spill when I’m eating, it’s a miracle I haven’t been beset by mice at one point or another.

    Wow to your bake! The topping has me drooling all over my keyboard (and drowning any potential rodent interlopers hehe)

    xxx

    • Oh no, I agree with you in that I can’t kill anything! I just couldn’t have bought a non-humane trap or *shudder* poison. I think mice are actually quite cute; just not in my house!
      I save spiders too – once, I carefully fished two out of a water bucket up the yard and put them on the floor. They were just starting to move when a chicken came up…. and ate them both in one peck – oops ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Maria says:

    I had mice – at home my dad put traps down (they love chocolate and went for that in the traps)- we also had some here in our roof and in the end we got a man from the council to put a trap, then he came back the next week to take it away.

  5. My friend had mice once, it was a nightmare. Luckily its never something I’ve had to deal with. I would have been miffed to have been distracted from that breakfast too!

  6. Ooooo….not a very nice visitor! A yummy looking breakfast though!

  7. Oh gracious! I’d hide my food too! haha!

  8. Urgh – I hate the thought of rodents running around my kitchen. My parents had mice a while ago and they use that sonic thing, which seems to work.
    I hope Mickey doesn’t make a return.

  9. Mmm buckwheat bake! Why am I suddenly seeing so many yummy microwave recipes now that we’ve just got rid of our microwave?! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    And once I turned round and saw a little mouse in our fruit bowl! He was holding a grape between his little paws (paws?)… bless. Still not very nice – or clean – though!

    • Oh no! Sod’s law ๐Ÿ™‚ This one was done in the oven though and I’m sure most of the others would actually be better oven-baked than in the microwave…
      And in the fruit bowl? Eek! I bet it would have looked quite cute – if it hadn’t been your own fruit bowl… ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Oh little mousie! I probably would have freaked! Lol! I have been wanting to try one of the breakfast bakes from Ashley ๐Ÿ™‚ I def like the idea of being full!

  11. I’m soooo glad I have a cat.

  12. We had a mouse in our pantry last year as well. Fortunately all the food was out of reach for him, but we still had to stay out of it for the sake of keeping the door shut (and him inside) before getting a human trap. It was hard finding a humane trap, too! All of them were focused on killing the poor things.

  13. I had a mouse in my house last year! It was in my bedroom…I was reading in bed one morning and saw it RUN across the room and go under my dresser! So scary…but it was adorable! I tried catching it several times and once managed to get it into my closet and corner it…but it didn’t work so I had to get a trap ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Oh NO! I think I’d have jumped even more than I did if I was in my room! Shame you didn’t manage to catch him though; you almost want to explain to it that it would be better if you could… ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Pingback: At the eleventh hour… | Eating like a horse

  15. Pingback: The light fantastic | Eating like a horse

  16. Pingback: Strange… | Eating like a horse

  17. Totally not the same, but I have relatives who kept liquor bottles in their broken dishwasher. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you for commenting!

