Give me a Z! Or not…

Aduki beans? Or adzuki beans?? Who cares, they taste great whether there’s a Z in them or not 🙂

I’d never eaten them but I’d heard about their supposed amazing health benefits and as I haven’t met many beans I don’t like, I snaffled up this can when I saw it.

(No Z, according to Biona…)

Going along with the using things up theme, I used them in place of chick peas for my mushroom burgers, with the substitution of 1tsp flax in 1tbsp warm water for the egg white, the addition of some spinach and paprika and leaving the cheese out. (See bottom of post for details.)

It’s a shame I didn’t think to take a picture of the resulting mixture – or, to be honest, it was probably a bonus. The only time I’ve ever seen anything  like that black, gloopy mess was when my dad had his pond dug out… 🙂

Are you tempted yet??

The beans are soft and blend-able, which is probably why I ended up with something more like batter than burgers, so I went for Plan B, aka, “dollop it into a frying pan and see what happens”:

If you arrange things in pretty shapes, they taste better afterwards. Fact.

I wasn’t confident.

But, as pancakes/blobs/amoebae go, these were really nice! I love the flavour of the beans (see my cunning in not mentioning what type, to avoid the Z-or-no-Z question?!) which seems to lend itself to the garlic and paprika flavour. They held together and cooked really well too:

I think they’d be perfected by the addition of some oats, or maybe breadcrumbs, just to give them a bit more substance… but they tasted great and, somehow, smelt exactly like meaty burgers!

So I thought it would be rude not to put cheese on top 🙂

I actually made these, and took the pictures, a couple of days ago then I saw from Lauren‘s great-looking cakes that Ricki, of Diet, Dessert and Dogs and Kim, of Affairs of Living, are holding monthly Sweet or Savory challenges and that March’s ingredient was… the whatever-they’re-called beans 🙂

So I got the other two out of the freezer, spread some roasted pepper pesto on top…

Perfect.

I’m going to try these beans in some sweet recipes; I think the flavour and texture will work perfectly. I’m also looking forward to seeing what other recipes get submitted to the challenge – almost as much as I’m looking forward to a loooong lie-in tomorrow.  

It’s been a long week and I just haven’t been going to bed early enough. So as far as the post title goes, definitely give me a Zzzzzzzzzzzzz 🙂

Edit: The recipe for these burgers is:

135g adzuki beans, tinned

50g mushrooms, chopped

1tbsp ground flax seed in 3tbsp warm water

1tbsp flour (I used GF brown blend)

Garlic and paprika powder (to taste)

Double handful spinach, wilted

Mix flax “egg” and set aside while you wilt the spinach (I just heat an omelette pan, throw the spinach in and stir till it’s done).

Blend everything together (flour last) until smooth.

Form into four patties and cook in a preheated skillet or heavy frying pan (over a low to medium heat) until browned and set, then flip and repeat. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Give me a Z! Or not…

  1. i just made hummus with adzuki beans actually!! love them!

  2. Olivia says:

    Yum! I’ve never had adzuki beans! They look and sound fabulous though:)

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    I like the title of this post! I’ve had those beans in as bean burgers before and they are quite nice. Love the sound of that roasted pepper pesto though! 🙂

  4. How about beanie brownies? 🙂

  5. Lauren says:

    I’m so glad you found your way over to the SOS Challenge! I haven’t made bean burgers since my last batch turned out mushy from over-processing! Your red bean burgers look tasty to me! =)

  6. Maria says:

    Love the idea of having them with pesto 🙂

  7. I have had a big bag of adzuki beans sitting in my pantry for years, and I had no idea what to do with them! Thank so much for fixing that!! 😀
    I loooove beany burgers – yours look PERFECT!! 🙂

  8. I love adzuki beans – they taste fabulous with roasted squash and in stir fries, so good!

  9. I have never even heard of those beans! Thanks for introducing me 🙂 They sound yummy!

  10. I used aduki beans in a stew a few weeks ago and I’m definitely a fan now. The burgers look lovely, I’m tempted to try them out 🙂

  11. I’ve never had ad(z)uki beans…they look so good though! Your burgers look really good, too- I need to get on board with making my own bean patties!

  12. Kim Christensen says:

    Hi, these look delicious, even if they are amoeba-like 🙂 Thanks for submitting to the SOS Kitchen Challenge! We do, however, ask that recipes are included in the post. I know you link to another recipe, but would you consider posting the recipe with your azuki and flax seed adjustments in this post so it is easier for the readers of our blog event to navigate? Thanks! Kim

Thank you for commenting!

