The good, the bad and the lovely

Thank you for the homemade nut butter ideas on yesterday’s post – I’m on a mission to make loads of different sorts now!

But as far as today goes, I was glad to get home after work.

It’s always likely that, as a local journalist, I’m going to be busier at work on deadline days and that stories might fall through at the last minute but today I had not one but TWO front page articles evaporate before my eyes – one at about 4pm. I’m glad there were no children around to hear my language when the second one fell through… 🙂

But I found something else – and if the above is one of the worst bits of my jobs, stories like another one I wrote today are the opposite.

One of those temporary interactive speed signs had gone in and it was flashing this at everything that passed it:

88mph – how good is that?! The speed the DeLorean had to reach in Back to the Future to enable it to travel in time… I found a picture from the original poster and have asked the sub-editors to inset it into the above – I’m looking forward to seeing what that page looks like 🙂

I love quirky comedy stories, especially when I can write something like this:

“…But those drivers incapable of vanishing in a flash of blue light and a plasma implosion, leaving only twin fire trails behind them, were also baffled by the erroneous readings.
One said: ‘Great Scott’….”

It more than made up for the rubbish bits of the day 🙂

As did this:

A coconut breakfast muffin.

10g coconut flour

20g other flour (I used GF brown blend)

1/2 banana, mashed to liquid

1tsp flax in 1tbsp warm water

2tbsp+ milk (depends how big your banana is – mine was small so I used about another tsp)

1tsp plain yoghurt (I used soya; don’t know if adding this made any difference!)

Heaped 1/4tsp baking powder, splash coconut/vanilla extract

Mix flax “egg” and set aside. Sieve the coconut flour into a greased microwavable bowl, then add everything else and mix well. Add enough milk for it to be a batter-like consistency and microwave for about three minutes. (My microwave’s budget and not digital so I turned the dial to about 3/4 power if that helps).

That was last night and this morning, I splashed a bit more milk on top so it didn’t dry out and reheated it in the microwave, plopped it on to a plate and plastered coconut butter and strawberry jam on the top…

The texture and taste of it – perrrrrfection!

I think the one downer of the day, however major it was at the time, was more than made up for by the good bits 🙂

What are the worst things about your job (or college/work/etc) – and what are the great things that make everything worth it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The good, the bad and the lovely

  1. Hmm worst thing about my job is grading papers! I really think kids (and by kids I mean freshmen in college) are getting dumber and the papers they write prove it!
    Seriously, one week they were supposed to turn in a research paper that focused on an issue related to psychology and media and someone did a “paper” on a print ad of Katy Perry promoting a pimple cream!
    GAH!!

    Everything melts away when I come home to my lovely boyfriend though 🙂

    • My mum used to teach secondary school and she used to say the same… it makes you wonder!
      Lovely that you and your bloke have such a good relationship though; that’s what it’s all about 🙂

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    Worst thing about doing a PhD is the beureaucracy…and the fact that your job never ends. It’s not a 9-5 thing, so you can never really escape the niggling feeling that you should be working on it.

    Positives: the flexible hours and…erm, the pay? Terrible of me to say I know but I know I wouldn’t be doing this if I didn’t have a scholarship!

    Love the Back to the Future sign…and your commentary on it 😀

    xxx

  3. Haha, love the back to the future reference! That coconut muffin looks great, need to try it out!

  4. That looks delicious. I do love coconut!

  5. Love the look of the muffin! Well I love anything coconut actually 😉 but that looks especially delicious!
    As for my job, I like the fact that its pretty social and I’ve been made loads of friends through it… the bad? My boss.

    • Oh dear; not bad when you’ve got a nightmare boss… at least the other people make up for it!
      And I’m with you 100%; anything coconut is good 🙂
      Thank you for visiting and commenting!

  6. That coconut muffin looks delicioso!

    My work – I hate how repetitive it is and it’s NOT a field I’m interested in pursuing a career in.

    What I love is the few lovely colleagues I have 😀

  7. LOve that speed sign!
    I love the funny comments the children make, and the excitement when they achieve something fab. I hate all the paperwork!

    • I was so pleased it was that speed!
      I used to work in primary schools and agree with you about the comments etc but so sympathise with the amount of red tape/paperwork you have to deal with 🙂

  8. Hahaha! I love the 88 thing! So great!

    Best part of nannying – it’s definitely super fulfilling. Worst – all the nasty diapers, haha!

    • Eeek – not sure I could cope with dirty nappies! I’m ashamed to admit that until the other day, I’d NEVER changed one. I volunteered to do my goddaughter’s cos I thought I should… 🙂

  9. Pingback: Phasing in – and out | Eating like a horse

  10. I just started my new job this week (hence why I’m finally commenting on this post on a Friday, doh!), but so far so VERY good around here… everyone is super laid back and positive, training is boring but effective, and all my fellow new hires are awesome. So many perks to this job that I have stars in my eyes right now! 😉

Thank you for commenting!

