OITJ

It seems everyone agrees that where food is concerned ugly is better πŸ™‚

But not where this food is concerned…

I finally did it. Made my own coconut butter, that is.

I said yesterday, I was going to try and talk some sense into my blender because it really WASN’T playing the game. I chucked in the coconut, (on Monday) left it blending for a few minutes – and smoke was coming out of it. And it sounded like it was about to explode. And the walls of my house are very thin. And the coconut hadn’t changed much 😦

I tried again a few times during the week with the same results, with the entertaining variation of this:

Although the blender couldn’t make coconut butter, it COULD make squashed coconut/chewed rubber mashup.

Great.

So yesterday, I lugged out my mum’s ancient Magimix:

Β 

And chucked in a whole packet of coconut. I left it churning away while I did something else, without really watching but when I did look at it:

Stirrings of excitement – it was working. I confess I did have to tear myself away from staring down the funnel andΒ watching the magic happen πŸ™‚

And aboutΒ five minutes later, I had this:

It pours and everything!

It’s possible that I was slightly overexcited byΒ it, if you hadn’t guessedΒ  πŸ™‚ The key was clearly the food processor rather than the blender approach.

Something else that made me happy today was the fact the almond butter blondies did result in an empty AB jar, just begging to be filled with porridge.

But those Meridian jars are tiny. I could of course just have cooked less porridge but having given that thought careful consideration for at least half a second, I decided against it. Then I found something else hiding in the cupboard:

It had to be Oats In Two Jars πŸ™‚

I made butternut puree porridge, a la Emily Elizabeth (a recipe I knew straight away had to be tried – and it’s definitely a winner)

And added the banana this morning, which had to be the perfect breakfast – delicious, filling…. and two helpings πŸ™‚

So I just need to eat more nut butter… and on that note, Emma, aka Sweet Tooth Runner, is holding a giveaway for Meridian ones (and other products).Β  Getting over there as we speak… thanks Emma!

Off to eat some more coconut butter methinks – and to come up with more nuts that could be butterfied in the Magimix… can’t believe the ancient machine outdid the modern one!

Do you make your own nut butters? What’s your favourite?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to OITJ

  1. YAY for coconut butter and two OIAJ!!! how exciting!

  2. oh and sometimes i make my own nut butters- but i get lazy..

  3. Congrats on the coconut butter πŸ™‚ My favourite nut butter at the moment is almond, but I’ve never tried making my own.

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    Ah, I wish I owned a food processor. Then I would indeed make all of my own nut butters. They are really worth the investment from what I’ve heard ~ slightly different range of motion to a blender perhaps? But your coconut butter looks simply divine. Shame I can’t lick the blades (I do that with my blender…one day I will slice my tongue off :P) right off the screen.

    Favourite nut butter has to be…a non-nut butter! Sunflower seed actually, but it’s so expensive and I can only get it online. I haven’t had any since Nov 2010! But aside from that it’s smooth PB: original and best for me.

    Hoorah for double oats in a jar. I have an empty (well, almost) smooth PB Meridian 1kg bucket for my oats tomorrow that’s calling to me…AND an almost-empty jar of tahini. But they’re both huge containers so I shall have to at least attempt to resist using and filling them both! (the tahini is a 450g jar…I think those dinky jars are about 170g?)

    Thanks for your comment: you’re really too kind but it was lovely of you to say such nice things anyway. I don’t deserve such wonderful comments!

    xxx

    • I think it is either the motion or the shape of the blades because they slice round more… and it’s so good; I confess I’m a blade-licker too πŸ™‚
      I’ve got one of those tubs too but there’s a long time to go yet… I remember you commenting before on Oats In A Bucket – genius! Never tried sunflower seed but it sounds great… one for the list.
      And as for the compliments, that’s my pleasure. You more than deserved them πŸ™‚

  5. thequirkykitchen says:

    Hey! I like making almond butter mostly but I made pistachio butter once, along with dark chocolate pecan butter. Both were yummy!

  6. I’ve always wanted to try coconut butter..or actually, just making my own nut butter, but my only food processor consists of a magic bullet. They don’t hold up to nuts too well. πŸ˜›

  7. Hmm… I really need to get a food processor… sometimes the blender really just doesn’t cut it.

  8. Oh no! Sorry to hear about your food processor 😦 I have one but I’ve never used it for nut butters- it’s really old!

    I totally had OIAJ this morning- so good! My jar was so big that it was hard to eat out!

  9. Amanda says:

    I have never tried to make my own but I definitely might have to very soon! πŸ™‚

  10. Lauren says:

    Your coconut butter looks awesome! As does your mom’s food processor! =) I need a better food processor in order to make coconut butter. Mine just doesn’t have the power! I’m currently loving maple vanilla almond butter!

  11. I have to get on the coconut butter wagon, that looks lush! I just hope my little food processor is up to it! I love all nut butters, don’t think I could choose just one! Loving the 2 jars action – great minds eh!

  12. I will DEFO be making my own coconut butter soon!! I still have some Artisana left, but as soon as that’s gone, I’ll be doing this!! It looks great! πŸ˜€

    And DARK CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER all the way!! I made some and it’s the BEST honestly πŸ™‚

    P.S. Thanks for the link love!!

    • Ha ha, I was driven to it when my Artisana ran out! Brilliant though and MUCH cheaper – and I’m on the dark chocolate pb from scratch as soon as!
      That’s a pleasure; thank you for doing the giveaway πŸ™‚

  13. lindsay says:

    wow, great job on the coconut butter. I bet it so worth it to try! I saw that meridian giveaway! I WANT IT! hehe.

  14. Little Bookworm says:

    I love making raw almond butter myself. πŸ™‚ Your post has reminded me to try to make coconut butter though. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  15. Doesn’t get much better than double oats in a jar!! πŸ˜€

  16. I made choc pb- but I didnt trust my food processor with whole nuts so I mixed melted choc chips and cinnamon with normal pb πŸ™‚

  17. Pingback: Red sky at night | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

