All bets are off

Anyone considering entering the “ugliest breakfast 2011” awards, don’t bother.

I’m a dead cert for the top prize…

They actually look like some sort of deep-fried pork crackling – but I promise they’re notย  ๐Ÿ™‚

I had a brilliant night last night but had to get up early to do the horses so I hardly ate anything before I cycled up there, meaning just to turn them out and come back. But I ended up riding and faffing about so I didn’t get back till 10.30am.

I was always going to make pancakes but I was so hungry, I didn’t want any of yer flimsy crepes; I wanted fat, “meaty” buggers ๐Ÿ™‚

I won’t post the recipe, yet, (see pictures!) but I used steamed butternut, pureed with cinnamon, part-ground oats, peanut flour, a flax egg, baking powder… and no extra liquid. Which could have been an error… the mixture tasted so good, I could have just eaten that but I plopped it into the pan and realised straight away, it wasn’t going to work.

But I persevered and at least got something…

Not quite ugly enough though, I feel. Hmm; what can I do about that…

Getting there! Banana and almond butter is a taste combination made in heaven. But it ain’t pretty. One more thing though:

Sprinkle some crumbled nutty crackers/cereal on the top and there ya have it; a truly revolting-looking, all-one-colour plate. Perfect.

It wasย SO good though. Just the cinnamon butternut puree was heaven in a bowl but add all the rest and you’ve got a winning taste combination.

I just need to work on the cooking but who worries about details like that?!

I’m off now to try and convince my blender it really wants to make coconut butter, although we really don’t seem to be agreeing on that one as yet – has anyone got any tips??

Have a great Sunday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to All bets are off

  1. As long as it tastes good who cares what it looks like ?

  2. I’m with maria, yes sometimes presentation is nice – but its the taste that matters! eat em with your eyes closed!

  3. Oh exactly… I don’t care what it looks like; just thought it was funny to make something looking exactly like *shudder* pork scratchings! Eyes closed is a good idead though ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve said it so many times – the best tasting things look really ugly! I like the sound of that breakfast.

  5. I agree with Sarah above!! Indian food that I make always looks so gloppy in photos but it tastes divine ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Little Bookworm says:

    I am just going to agree with other commenters about taste often being better than how the food actually looks. Though pretty looking food is also good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. AHAHAH sometimes the ugliest food is the tastiest!

  8. “a truly revolting-looking, all-one-colour plate. Perfect.” You crack me up!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. ~Jessica~ says:

    I have a blender as old as Methuselah, so unfortunately I don’t think it would be up to coconut butter ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    And I never think your food looks ugly at all! Prissy food is always too intimidating to be tasty, and it’s all going to end up as mush when chewed anyway…so it may as well be highly tasty mush ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xxx

    • That one’s as old as the hills so I never thought it would work! And thank you; I’d rather have that than some intimidating-looking perfect gourmet meal that you’re almost afraid to eat ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Haha! I made a really similar recipe once and they turned out looking quite the same. As long as they taste good!

  11. I really want to make coconut butter, but I’m not sure my blender could handle it! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. Pingback: Just peachy | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

