Gentlemen prefer…

Thank you for the suggestions as to where the mysteriously-vanished pyjamas had, er, mysteriously vanished to!

About an hour after I put that post up last night, I found them. In the tumble dryer which, of course, was a prefectly logical and sensible place to put clothes that hadn’t just been washed and were, clearly, completely dry already. There’s no hope.

But when the first thing you see when you go out of your back door in the morning is this…

You know it it’s likely to be a good day – especially if it’s a Friday.

It stayed warm, springlike and beautiful all day. I had toΒ go to the other side of town for a job and it was such a lovely walk which took me past this park:

Fingers crossed it stays that way for the weekend πŸ™‚

Another thing that happened after I posted last night was these:

Almond butter blondies! I deny any accusation that these were made to speed the emptying of an almond butter jar and therefore bring another OAIJ that much closer…

I’d just been wanting to make a non-chocolate version of these brownies for a while and it was just complete coincidence that I saw the AB jar was nearly empty… and that it’s now even more soΒ πŸ™‚

Preheat oven to 160C and take:

45g almond butter

30g mayonnaise

50g sugar (I used light brown)

40g flour (I used GF brown bread blend)

1tbsp flax with 3tbsp warm water

1/4tsp baking powder

Half a large banana, mashed so some chunks remain

Handful of crumbled banana chips

Mix flax egg first and let stand while you measure the rest. Whisk “egg”, sugar, mayo and almond butter together till really well blendedΒ then sieve in the flour and baking powder.

Stir in the mashed banana and fold in banana chips, if using (I love the crunch of these).

Spoon into a greased/lined tin (mine’s about 8×8 inches square) and bake for about half an hour, till the top’s firm but a skewer doesn’t necessarily come out clean. Makes eight.

I was going to turn the oven to grill for a bit to crisp the top – but I really couldn’t be bothered to wait! They’re so good too, although I’m biased in that I think almond butter and banana is one of the best combos ever.

These would be great with pb too and, if I can talk my blender into trying a bit harder with the dessicated coconut, my next mission is definitely a coconut butter because that would just rock πŸ™‚

I don’t know about gentlemen, but I think I definitely prefer blondes… when it comes to this context anyway πŸ˜‰

What about you – in the red corner, brownies and in the blue…. blondies. Which would win?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gentlemen prefer…

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    Having only tried a brownie, I shall declare my unconditional love for them and leave it at that.

    Glad you’ve been enjoying the beautiful weather πŸ™‚ It’s been blowing a gail and rainy up here, so it’s nice to know other parts of the country have some sunshine πŸ˜‰

    xxx

  2. Gentlemen prefer blondies! haha- that’s really funny πŸ™‚
    They look great !

  3. I like blondies with chocolate chips in them πŸ™‚

  4. I love brownies the most πŸ™‚
    But I do like blondies if they have pb and white choc in them πŸ™‚

  5. Your backyard is so pretty!!

    Your blondies look fabulous to say the least!!! πŸ˜€
    But I have to say I would go for the brownies. Chocolate wins me over every time πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! Sadly it’s not just mine – but it’s still the view out of my back window!
      There is that with the chocolate thing – maybe I need to make almond butter, banana AND chocolate brownies πŸ™‚

  6. I’m loving the weather today (although just turned a bit cloudy 😦
    The blondies look delish, but I’ve not tried them before.

  7. Little Bookworm says:

    Can I say I like both brownies and blondies? I especially love the sound of those almond butter blondies – yum! πŸ™‚

  8. Mayo in the blondies?! Who knew? πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

