Strange happenings

What sort of person manages to lose her pyjamas, between waking up one morning and going to bed that night?!

I don’t know… but I did.

Last night, I looked for the vest top, little shorts and *rock ‘n’ roll confession alert* socks I sleep in -and the only sign was ONE sock, in the bathroom. I looked in my bed, in the washing machine, under the bed – nothing.

Unless the dastardly plum thieves have extended their operations, I’m stumped. Very strange πŸ™‚

Also strange was when I woke up this morning and, as usual, staggered straight into the shower andΒ back to my bedroom. I looked at the clock, expecting to be late and found the opposite… it was 4am!

I’d obviously woken up randomly and my brain asusmed it wasΒ time to get up and went on auto-pilot… but very strange. I didn’t think about it much though, justΒ went straight back to bed… πŸ™‚

Stranger still was not having breakfast when I got up.

I had a fasting blood test this morning and it was so strange; I usually faff about for ages making breakfast and coffee and sitting down to relax for five minutes with it, whereas today was just a case of “mmm – water” and then off.

But I’d prepared by making a breakfast to take to work, something I’ve been meaning to do for ages and involving this:

Oh yes – Oats In A Jar!

I cooked some jumbo oats last night and put them in the jar, which has been waiting in the cupboard for ages, with more pb and some flax for luck.

My only concern was whether the jar would be big enough to take some banana too…

But I juuuust about squeezed it in there. How good is that; a portable breakfast!

I was starving by the time I got to work and stuck it in the microwave but it was worth waiting for: Out. Of. This. World.

Despite the weird looks I got from a couple of people and the comment from Mike, the bloke opposite me, who said the smell was making him gag (!) it was possibly the best porridge I’ve ever had; I could have eaten it twice.

And the only worry now is how much more nut butter I’m going to have to eat to be able to have this heaven more often. I think the child in me enjoys the novelty of eating out of a jar too… πŸ™‚

Soooo… topic of the day is: “Oats In A Jar was a creation of undeniable genius: discuss”

And the question of the day is…. any idea where I might have put those pyjamas – and that one sock?!

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Strange happenings

  1. Hahahahaha – what a funny (and weird) morning!
    Gotta love OIAJ, though. Loved the mashed banana addition at the end!
    Brilliant idea πŸ™‚
    Have a great day, love!
    xoxo

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Weird morning! Hope the blood test went ok – and love the look of the OIAJ! In terms of losing things, maybe go with the saying about looking where you last saw them?

  3. Tres strange! I’ve woken up before and gone on auto-pilot. It’s SO weird! I refused to believe the bedside clock was right so checked the living room and oven clock AND my watch before I realised then hot footed it back to bed!

    Hope your blood test went ok πŸ™‚

    OIAJ are great although my last one was missing a certain je ne sais quois, maybe the ‘nana! Bring on the almost empty almond butter jar πŸ˜€

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    Everything crossed for you with the blood test: hope it’s nothing too serious and they found a vein okay (I’ve had quite a few of them recently and know how awful it can be when veins disappear and they have to try both arms etc.)

    I can’t think of a better breakfast to have afterwards though: the novelty of eating out of a jar is indeed a wonderful and beautiful thing πŸ˜‰

    Hope you found your PJs in the end!

    xxx

    • Thank you so much x
      I had exactly that; the vein was there and then vanished! Apparently the fasting can make that happen but the worst is always pulling off that evil tape they use to stick the cotton wool on; worse than the needle!
      And I think the novelty made it πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve got a jar of nut butter waiting for me to try the famous oats in a jar. I’ve never tried it before, I’m so excited πŸ™‚
    I hope you solve the PJs mystery soon!

  6. Haha, did you wake up naked?! Cause that has totally happened to me before πŸ™‚ I actually woke up to myself removing my own pants once… so weird!!

  7. I’ve never had mornings where I actually started getting ready that early! Instead it’s the other way around where I think it’s a whole lot earlier than it actually is. πŸ˜›

  8. Haha! I love that you’ve totally lost your pjs. So random! Good luck finding them!

    I’ve still never had oats in a jar… someday!

  9. I love oats in a jar! Only because I love peanut butter (or other ones) and so a little bit with every spoonful is delish! Andy laughs at me and thinks I am weird, but who cares!
    The only problem is that it does not come around often enough!

  10. Haha, its so strange when stuff like that happens, sleep stripping perhaps? I love OIAJ, luckily I have three jars sitting waiting, one of them is a little almond butter jar so isn’t as good but I’ll take it!

  11. I’m always losing stuff like that too! Most specifically- my bras and shoes! It’s so frustrating!

Thank you for commenting!

