P-p-p-pancakes!

Happy Shrove Tuesday!

I used to love Pancake Day when I was little although with hindsight, it must have been a bit of a mission for my mum…

Knowing what hungry pancake monsters her four children were, she used to make huge amounts of batter, then sneak off to start cooking, hoping to get a good pile made and keeping warm in the oven before we cottoned on.

Sadly, even with those precautions, and with TWO pans on the go at a time, she always ended up with me, my two sisters and my brother gathered round with mouths open in baby bird style. Those were the days… 🙂

But I’ve only lately got back into eating them and I suddenly realised the other day, I hadn’t had a pancake on Pancake Day for years. And that’s just wrong.

I made up for it this year though – by having them for breakfast, lunch AND dinner 🙂

I made this morning’s last night as however much I’d like pancakes on weekday mornings, there’s no way I’ll be making them from scratch before work:

I used:

25g oats, ground into flour
1/2 banana, completely liquified
2 tbsp egg white
About 1/2 tsp baking powder (all I had left in the pot)
Shake of cinnamon

And cooked on a very low heat. I then microwaved them this morning, with the rest of the banana sliced on top:


I thought they might have suffered from being reheated but… nope! Complete deliciousness 🙂


 With  almond butter sauce (1tbsp almond butter, 1tbsp milk and a squeeze of maple syrup) dolloped on top and a cup of chocolate caramel coffee??

I think that would be just about acceptable 🙂

Lunch is always these pancakes/crepes, because it’s so simple to fill them with whatever and take them as sandwiches but I added some dried mixed herbs to the batter which was great.

And as for dinner,

That would be two of the crepes (GF brown flour blend, egg white, milk and water, with mixed herbs and some garlic) filled with a spinach/pesto/cheese/heaven mixture and put in the oven so it all melted together, with roasted garlic/paprika butternut and carrot chunks and standard vegetable mountain…

I think it wouldn’t be unfair to say I marked the day properly… 🙂

Did you “celebrate” today (or last week on the American Pancake Day)?
What’s your favourite way of cooking/topping?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to P-p-p-pancakes!

  1. I didnt have pancakes today, but I love them savoury with cream cheese and peppers, or I love them with melty chocolate drops, or sliced banana, or dark cherries, any kind of jam, orange juice, basically anything!

  2. dang you went pancake out!! i did not celebrate.. :(.. fav topping? nut butter!

  3. Yay for pancakes! I’m a fan of maple syrup for toppings, but nut butter and cream cheese is awesome as well 🙂

  4. “spinach/pesto/cheese/heaven mixture” Heaven indeed!! 😀

  5. I love me some pancakes! My fav. topping is nut butter for sure, and of course, real maple syrup.

  6. Those pancakes look fab! I didn’t partake in pancake day, I figure that I eat them when I want so its not as special as it used to be, I might make some belated ones at the weekend x

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    No pancakes for me: I’m a blogging abnormality in that I just don’t like them that much. Although I wouldn’t say no to your breakfast pancakes if I could use a flax egg 😉

    When I was younger I used to like either simple old sugar and lemon, vanilla ice cream and jam or stewed apple 🙂

    xxx

  8. Wow those pancakes look AMAZING!! I had no idea it was pancake day 😦 Favorite topping = nut butter (particularly peanut and coconut 😀 )

  9. I didn’t have any pancakes yesterday 😦 I made some at the weekend though and think there will definitely be more pancakes in my life!

  10. Little Bookworm says:

    Definitely celebrated Pancake Day! Yours look great – love the almond butter sauce! 🙂 Favourite topping = banana and almond butter. 🙂

  11. Your breakfast pancakes are beautiful! So golden and perfect looking.

    For breakfast I love to top with banana, blueberries and agave… for crepe style ones I like sugar & lemon. Sadly I’m not a fan of savoury pancakes although yours do sound amazing!

    xxx

  12. Pingback: Just peachy | Eating like a horse

  13. Pingback: At the eleventh hour… | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: Ow! | Eating like a horse

  15. Pingback: The totally tropical taste | Eating like a horse

  16. Pingback: Pantastic | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

