Going crackers

 Evening!

So yesterday, I finally got to grips with the cinnamon socca cereal after last week’s failed attempt and I was secretly quite proud of myself (not so secretly now though, clearly!)

Granted, following a clear recipe and managing to remember something’s in the oven ain’t exactly rocket science… but I feel we should celebrate our achievements, however small 🙂

On a roll, I then tried this cracker recipe from Elana’s Pantry, thinking it would also make a nice crunchy cereal. I left out the sesame seeds (don’t like ’em) and the pumpkin seeds (hadn’t got ’em) and used dessicated coconut instead (surprise, surprise!)

Sadly, my newfound recipe-following skill had deserted me by that point and I didn’t cut the dough into crackers before I baked…

Had I wanted crackers, this wouldn’t have been too good, but as I wanted crumbly cerealness, and that’s what I got, I count that as another achievement 🙂

They’re great; just the right crunch and delicious; perfect for topping today’s stewed pear/yoghurt combo…

I’m definitely going to make these again as crackers too…

But as far as that breakfast goes, Jessica commented yesterday saying she was going to look up how to make it so for her, and anyone else interested, I just make it the same as I would apple puree; chop up whatever fruit you fancy (I peel apples for puree but leave peel on for this because I prefer the texture) and put it in a pan with some water. You only need a teaspoon or two for apples or pears, however many you cook, but I found plums cooked more quickly and better with more (about 1/4 inch in a small pan for two plums)

Add cinnamon/sugar/other spices or flavourings to taste and bring to the boil, then turn heat right down to barely simmering and cook till the fruit’s as soft as you want it. With soft fruit, you don’t have to stir as much as a less juicy one; apples burn really easily so keep the spoon going!

It’s perfect for breakfast with yoghurt and topped with cereal/granola/crumbled banana bread or even a muffin… 🙂

But to go back to yesterday, I was on a roll thanks to all that, er, earth-shattering achievement… and because it seems physically impossible for me to make anything without trying to coconutise it at the moment, I made coconut crackers.

Or maybe tried to make is a better way of putting it.

Hmmmm…

Although these actually tasted quite nice, believe it or not, I think they could safely be filed under “work in progress” 🙂

But I’m still going to count them as an achievement because, after all, how many times do you make a biscuit you can do this with?!

Like a Hallowe’en pumpkin – just weirder 🙂

What small (or big) thing have you achieved recently that should be celebrated?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Going crackers

  1. Haha! Glad it was such a success for you! 🙂

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    Thanks so much for posting the recipe/method again 🙂 Hopefully I’ll have time to make it and do it justice at some point (busy week=minimal cooking time *sigh* and I make such a mess in the kitchen I need about an hour to clear up after even a simple recipe).

    Love that last cracker pic ~ it’s spooky indeed!

    xxx

    • I know it’s amazing how much washing up is created by one bowl of something… that’s a pleasure, hope you do get a chance to try!
      Shame I haven’t got a better camera – or better photography skills – as the last pic could have been amazing 🙂

  3. I love homemade crackers!! Just like everything else homemade, they taste 10x better. And hey, even failed ones make good cereal. 😉

  4. Perfect! I never worry about the way my baked goods look because I crumble them anyway 🙂

  5. Those look so good, I am making them asap!

  6. I made some crackers last week for the first time and was totally stoked with the results! 🙂

  7. I have never thought about making crackers – but they look good! I might try it out. My biggest achievement lately is perfecting baked tofu.

  8. Reading this I realised I have a couple of plums I keep meaning to stew for a breakfast. Thanks for the reminder!
    The crackers look ace. Sometimes food looks better with a home-made rustic look to it and crackers are no exception. Jacobs cream crackers freak me out slightly with their sameness. You could never make a Halloween cracker out of one of those 😉
    xxx

    • Give it a go! It’s amazing how much it fills you up – and how delicious it is 🙂
      The crackers/cereal are/is great too 🙂 And ha ha, hadn’t thought that, a Jacob’s wouldn’t look too good in the window¬

  9. Honestly I don’t feel I’ve accomplished much lately. Esp in the arena of actually doing homework. hahaha.

    But I did post a giveaway fi that coutns for anything 😛 lol.

    Those crackers look really good!

  10. Pingback: All bets are off | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

