Lateness

I said in my ABC, I’m always late. Without fail. For everything.

So I think it’s quite apt that this post is a whole day late… 🙂

As I worked yesterday morning, then came home for lunch, spent the afternoon up the yard, came home to get changed and went out for a few drinks last night… it didn’t leave much time for anything else.

But as far as weekend working goes, it wasn’t bad at all. I got up at 8am, as oppose to my usual 6am for work, and had a quick stewed plum/mixed berry crumble/pudding/thing, then cycled up the yard to do the horses.

Pre-mixing:

In full-on mixed mess mode 🙂

Then straight up the yard – and it was freezing! And, I feel, when it’s that cold, it’s even more important to have two breakfasts… so just for that reason, banana bread French toast made a comeback:

No words needed.

I then got ready for work. I’ve said before how much I dislike the cold but don’t think I’ve made it clear how much of a wimp, wuss and all-round big girl’s blouse I really am.

So it’s confession time. To go to the war memorial yesterday, I wore tights, knee-length socks, thin leggings and my work trousers. On the top half was a vest top, a long-sleeved T-shirt, two jumpers, a sleeveless fleece bodywarmer, a scarf and a THICK coat. And a scarf. And gloves… 🙂

And I was still cold by the end of it. In my defence, this is the location of the war memorial:

In general, a clifftop at the start of March ain’t the warmest place you can get. Isn’t the view stunning though? My rubbish camera doesn’t nearly do it justice; you could see the coast of France just catching the sun from there too but my attempt at photographing that was so poor, I didn’t even consider putting it up!

It was definitely worth going though; it was the 75th anniversary of the first-ever Spitfire flight and they’d brought a replica of the prototype to the memorial. I also got to meet one of The Few, which was such an honour. These men, (fewer than 3,000) flying these revolutionary planes, were going up however many times a day, knowing the Nazis were less than 25 miles away across the Channel and a German invasion was imminent, yet through their supreme courage and sacrifice, they held it off, literally changing the course of history, not only for Britain but for the rest of the world.

The pilot I met yesterday was 90 (but looked no more than 70-ish) and my only regret was that I only got about 10 minutes with him… what a legend. It’s always a pleasure to cover this sort of thing in the paper so people don’t forget just what those men did for all of us.

Sorry, that got a bit deep and meaningful! It’s a bit of a passionate conviction of mine, just in case you hadn’t guessed 🙂

Anyway, I stayed at a friend’s last night and am planning lots of chilling for the rest of the day, plus some more home-made cereal attempts, I feel…

What’s your passionate conviction, ie if you could have a page in the paper to tell people about it, what would you write?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lateness

  1. Haha – we sound very alike when it comes to wrapping up for cold weather. When I go to work in the winter (bearing in mind I work in an office, not outdoors) I still wear tights and knee length socks under my trousers!

  2. It would be amazing to meet those pilots! Or to even see the planes..just being there. No doubt that was an awesome experience. 🙂

  3. That sounds like a great experience!! And that banana bread french toast looks fabulous! 🙂

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog! Tonto is a Morgan – that’s so cool that you recognized it!

    And your brother and mine seem to be a lot alike! Same birthday, and remember back at Christmas when they both got us crazy animal hats? Haha – brothers are the best! 😀

  4. I forgot about that!! How weird that they share a birthday as well as a taste for random hats – mad 🙂

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    My passions are running and animal rights…I think my views on the latter might be a bit too empassioned/extreme to be objective enough for publication though!

    It must have been amazing to meet people part of ‘living history.’ It must have been such a humbling experience: I’d be a bit overawed quite honestly!

    Such shivery weather definitely merits a second breakfast: I’d have eaten double or triple servings of the first one for sure…I now need to look up how to make it!

    xxx

    • It was really humbling; it was the same when I went on an anniversary cruise in June to mark 70 years since the Dunkirk evacuations… the veterans were all so friendly and so modest; none of them thought they’d done anything praiseworthy – amazing.
      give the stewed fruit a go, I love it! I’ve just put how to do it in my last post x

  6. I need to acquire some banana bread for french toast STAT!

  7. Oh wow that view looks amazing!

  8. Casey says:

    Full-on mess mode: looks awesome!

Thank you for commenting!

