Socca-punched

Still hanging on to that bandwagon!

I had some of my failed cereal/bread again for pudding last night, and it was still just as good as the day before – as was today’s breakfast.

After last week’s breakfasts all looking revolting but tasting great this one was the opposite… except it also tasted great πŸ™‚

I mixed 30g flour, a mix of gram, GF brown mix and peanut, with a mashed half-banana, 1tbsp milk, 1tsp flax in 1tbsp warm water, a pinch of baking powder and a shake of cinnamon and microwaved it on full power for about two minutes.

Then, this morning, I poured a tiny bit more milk over it and put it back in the microwave for about half a minute, then plopped it out of the bowl. Most importantly, I topped it with a pb/strawberry jam sauce and was in breakfast heaven.

Please be impressed at the self-control it took to stop scoffing long enough to take this photo πŸ™‚

Fully signed up to the socca cause. 100%.

It was especially nice eating breakfast knowing that I didn’t have to go out in the freezing-fecking-cold-it’s-supposed-to-be-March-what’s-going-on morning to do the horses as my friend, who I blessed to the bottom of my heart this morning, was doing them instead.

And it was sooooo cold. We’ve had this bitter, evil wind ALL week and I ain’t ‘appy about it, especially as I’ve got to work tomorrow morning 😦

It’s going to be really interesting because they’re bringing a replica of the first Spitfire ever made to the Battle of Britain war memorial near work and I’m going to have the privilege of meeting a BoB veteran which will be a real honour.

But the downside is, the memorial’s right on the clifftop, so there’s more than aΒ slight chance it’s going to be what you might call somewhat breezy.Β And it’s not going to be any warmer tomorrow. Grrrr.

To avoid thinking about that, I made a deeeeelicious dinner:

I baked slices of aubergine for about 20 minutes, then layered them up with a mix of sauted mushroom and tomato, spinach, red pesto and a bit of cheese and baked again, then sprinkled more cheese on top and grilled till it was all melty….. perfect.

Some might say I’m in a bit of a rut where vegetable accompaniments go but I’ll have you know I can be a bit of a maverick – sometimes I even have roasted carrot instead of butternut… πŸ™‚

But I always have a big dollop of this:

That Hugh Jass bottle is 910g of tomatoey, ketchuppy goodness and all for the bargain price of Β£2. Nice one Asda; that’ll keep me going for at least, er,Β a week?!

But does this picture look familiar at all – or is it just me?

I feel it’s even more important than usual, given the recession, to make sure no ketchup is wasted. Although to my mind, wasting ketchup is criminal at any time.

Although I do confess to wasting some of it…

Criminal πŸ™‚

Does anyone else do that with sauces or anything else?! (Please say it’s not just me!)

And… happy Friday! At last. anyone doing anything exciting this weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Socca-punched

  1. Your dinner sounds lovely – I love aubergine!
    A few weeks ago I’d never even heard of socca – now I really feel the need to make it πŸ™‚

  2. HAHAAH ive done that with my sauces!! none to waste!! Hooray for the socca!!

  3. I have definitely done that with my sauces!! You’re not the only one!! I want to try socca so bad!!

  4. Peanut butter/strawberry jam sauce?! I love you.

  5. I’ve done the same thing! Nothing goes to waste around me πŸ™‚

  6. I do the same thing with just about anything the comes in bottles, sauces, lotions, shampoo…even stuff in jars like applesauce and jam! Yep, definitely a good time to be a penny-pincher. πŸ˜›

  7. Your breakfast looks fabulous! πŸ™‚

    I have to admit I’ve never done that with any sauces, but I think it’s a great idea and am almost certain I will be doing it in the future! πŸ™‚ (I hate to waste things too!)

    And I completely agree that wind is evil – especially when it’s during the time I have scheduled to ride my horse!

  8. Totally impressed by your self control to stop long enough to take the photo. I know how hard that can be sometimes. πŸ˜‰

    I totally do that with condiments! You’re not alone at all in that.

  9. I love ketchup, used to eat ketchup sandwiches when I was little! Your breakfast bake looks fab!

  10. That breakfast bake looks yummy πŸ™‚
    We do that with things like salad dressing and things.

  11. LOL. I’ve never thought to do that with sauce bottles! It’s kind of genius. Although I’m a diehard Heinz-ketchup-belongs-in-GLASS-bottles gal (all that whacking the bottle to get it out makes it taste so much better!).
    xxx

  12. ~Jessica~ says:

    Yep: I do exactly the same thing with my sauces. Ketchup is far too precious to go to waste.

    Adoring that breakfast cake: it is indeed aesthetically pleasing and undoubtedly equally lovely for the palette πŸ™‚

    xxx

  13. Your socca looks great!
    For tomato sauces for pasta I always swish some water around in the jar and use it to get every bit!

  14. Pingback: Phasing in – and out | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

