A mystery – and a challenge

Well today’s been a bit easier!

Our news week runs from Wednesday to Wednesday and I’ve been editing for this one. We had one reporter (out of the other three) off Wednesday to Friday, another off Friday and the third off this week. Which means MISSIONS! But the paper got done and all is fine.

Phew. Plus, I’m training tomorrow, which means an extra half-hour in bed and an earlier finish, then I’m hopefully going to watch my six-month-old goddaughter’s second swimming lesson (bless) and then out to dinner with her mum, my best friend 🙂

But there is a mystery and it’s this:

I got it through my door last night. It says it was attached to a parcel and that it came from America – but I don’t know what, or where, it is! I’m not expecting anything… I asked at the Post Office next door this morning and at my other neighbour’s this evening and neither of them knows anything.

And I’m so impatient, I want to know NOW what’s in it 🙂 Much longer and I’ll be knocking at random doors in the village…

The other mystery was this:

Given my current addiction, it had to be…… COCONUT cake!

Made from Red Velvet and Chocolate Heartache by Harry Eastwood. It’s my favourite cake book because she uses a combination of ground almonds and grated vegetables to replace butter which gives an amazing texture; moist (sorry), fluffy and delicious. and there’s the added bonus that you can tell people the cake contains courgette or swede after they’ve said how nice it was 🙂

It was so late when I got home, I went for a tried-and-tested favourite. I followed her recipe (barring some emergency changes owing to pantry malfunctions) but filled it with “buttercream” made from cream cheese, icing sugar and coconut extract and raspberry jam and iced it with Kara coconut milk and icing sugar.

And it went down a treat, so much so that I only just nabbed myself a piece 🙂

As for the challenge, it’s whether you can watch the video below and not laugh. Bet you can’t!

Video (I can’t embed it. Yes, I’m rubbish! But yes, it’s worth clicking on)

If you’ve had a rubbish day, I guarantee this will put a smile on your face – it’s brilliant. Sit back and enjoy 🙂

How long did you last without laughing?! I made it about five seconds…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A mystery – and a challenge

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Good luck with finding the parcel! The cake looks lovely, never heard of coconut cake!

  2. Aww babies laughing is one of the best sounds!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Hehe, cute, even though I’m not one for babies myself. I’d rather give birth to a kitten 😉

    I knew that was a coconut cake ~ and a delicious one it looks at that.

    I’m as intrigued as you are about that parcel: a surprise gift from another blogger perhaps?

    xxx

  4. Coconut cake..ohh that sounds even better than lemon cake! And that video is so freaking adorable. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. sophia says:

    I got one of those on my door too, but I know exactly what the package is…it’s my omelet pans that I ordered. I hope you get something more exciting though! 🙂

  6. OMG, that baby is the cutest ever! And you’re coconut cake is pretty fancy!! 😀

  7. A mystery! I hope you solve it soon.

  8. Pingback: A cereal offender | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

