More culinary miscreation – and a rant

Evening!

I’ve got a kind-of rant I want to get off my chest….! But because more very ugly-looking food is probably more interesting, I’ll get to that first ๐Ÿ™‚

It was breakfast. Again.

I’ve been eyeing Ashley’s breakfast bakes for a while and wanted to make a coconut flour version (surprise, surprise!) so I used 1/3 quantities of the muffins. I was going to mash the banana in but then had the bright idea (never a good sign) of having a banana layer instead; half the batter, then the banana, then more batter – it was going to rock…

Sadly, it sucked instead, as far as appearance goes. Too much banana/too little batterย meant I got a bowlful of melted banana with chunks of muffin in it AND I forgot to take a picture before I got stuck inย – double fail!

But with coconut cream and jam on top (againย surprise, surprise!) it was delicious and at least I know the microwaving works ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

As yesterday, looks revolting, tastes great…

Next up on kitchen weirdness is more cookies. I know anyone who read last Sunday’s post has been on tenterhooks and unable to sleep ever since, owing to the suspense of waiting for this recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

So with gritted teeth and monumental unselfishness, I ate all the others just so I could make them again and share the recipe… I’m great aren’t I? (Oscar, anyone?!)

Sadly, I not only lost the will to live with rolling out such sticky dough and left most as flattened balls, I didn’t cook them long enough…

Yep, that’s AFTER baking! But this could be sorted, they’re back in the oven as we speak… ๐Ÿ™‚

As for the rant/moan/whatever, it comes from speaking to my best friend yesterday. She said a number of people had asked her, quote, “Is El anorexic?” She’s seen me in full-on chowing-down action too many times to think that but, apparently, these people ask it because I’m not only “so skinny”, but also “always riding that bike”.

Yes, M’Lud, I confess I could do with putting on a few pounds and I do cycle a lot. But before you pass sentence, can the defence put its case?

Just after I found out about my coeliac disease, I was also diagnosed with a rare blood condition. It’s fine now; completely under control, but people with it are more likely to beย thinner than those without it. Plus, the haematologist and another doctor have both recently said my weight’s healthy.

And as for the cycling, although the condition is under control, it just means I have to look after myself and keeping fit is one good way of doing that. Bear in mind as well, I usually bike to the yard and back which only takes 10 minutes each way! It would take five in the car so bearing in mind petrol is ยฃ1.30 a litre and you use more of it on short journeys, plus all the other reasons I’ve just given, it surely makes more sense to cycle?!

And….. I like it! It makes me feel so much better if I’ve cycled in the morning before work and if I’ve had a stressful day, I feel better if I bike in the evenings.

One thing I’ve learned over the years is that everyone (and I include myself) judges by their own standards. So if you’re honest, you tend to believe what others say and if you’re manipulative and deceitful, you think you’re being deceived and manipulated. It’s human nature. That suggests that these people don’t enjoy exercising and so can’t imagine that anyone would want to do it for any other reason than to burn calories.

And that annoys me slightly ๐Ÿ™‚

It almost made me feel like people are watching and that I shouldn’t be riding the bike (I live in a small village where everyone knows everyone)

But I cycled there twice today anyway. So there ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, rant over and I’m sorry for going on! But I’d love to know anyone else’s thoughts on this one. And I promise to get the cookie recipe up soon…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to More culinary miscreation – and a rant

  1. It’s can be so hurtful when someone makes comments like that – other people don’t have a right to judge your appearance of habits, whatever they are (as long as they aren’t causing any harm). With regards to your cycling, I think you’re right – it seems strange to them and perhaps they’re even a bit jealous because they know they should be doing more exercise and looking after their health.
    I’m from a small village and everyone knows everything – I used to get “you’re in the gym all the time” or “you’re always walking all the time” – keep doing what you’re doing ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The small village thing can be great – but it does have its downsides! It’s weird how those statements can sound so accusing but I hadn’t thought of the jealousy thing… thank you so much for the comment x

  2. Sorry you have to deal with people asking questions like that. It’s not fair that people judge so easily when they don’t even know you well. Don’t worry about people’s opinion’s, though! If you like cycling, you cycle your heart out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I suppose some people just do not realise how hurtful their comments can be. I have one friend who is naturally very thin, and she gets comments all the time- she always says ” you wouldnt tell a larger person”your legs are like tree trunks” but for some reaosn people tell me my legs are like twigs”- but she ignores those comments now. I think you have to know yourself that you are healthy (which you are) and other people who see you do not know the whole picture.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Exactly! I get the same when I say I’m cold when people put on the ridiculously cold air conditioning at work in the summer! They’d never dream of telling someone they’re too hot because they’re overweight so why is the other way round ok?!
      Thank you very much x

  4. skinny latte says:

    Sweetheart it’s amazing how many people feel entitled to comment on skinny people and their eating and exercise habits, but they would never DREAM of openly discussing what a larger person eats/does in front of them – I don’t see the difference really, because it’s still rude and ignorant! I never got anyone “concerned for my health” when I was overweight ๐Ÿ™‚

    My guess is seeing you taking your health and wellbeing seriously and being committed to your healthy eating and exercise has made them think long and hard about their own habits. A friend once said to me, “shiny people can be hard to be around, because you can see your own reflection in them.” So true.

    You know that you are eating healthy for your conditions, your doctors are not concerned, and let’s face it – eating well and exercising regularly makes us feel fabulous, so why wouldn’t you be doing it?

    It’s a bugbear of mine as well, so I know exactly how you feel. You know what is best for your body so I would be inclined to ignore the naysayers, and maybe invite them along on your next bike ride ๐Ÿ˜€

    Thanks for your lovely comment on my blog too! x

    • That’s a really good point! And I hadn’t thought about the making people compare to their own healthy habits bit; could explain it…
      That’s the thing; it makes me feel so much better and maybe I will invite them next time to prove it!
      Thank you so much for such a lovely comment x

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    I’m afraid jealousy and misuderstanding probably fuelled those insensitive comments. I know I’m extremely envious of naturally thin people, but I would never make a remark like that because the people that do tend to view things simplistically, in black and white. Those same people tend to suggest that *all* overweight people must sit stuffing their faces all day and *all* thin people must be anorexic…they don’t understand the nuances of the individual.

    You keep on enjoying your bike rides and fuelling them with lovely food messes ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xxx

    • Exactly; people judge by what they see and don’t stop to think of the reasons for it (and I do include myself in that although I try very hard at least to find out BEFORE I comment on anything!)
      It is all about individuals; you’re so right and thank you for the comment x
      AndI did make another revolting-looking but delicious mess the very next day ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. quirkyrunner says:

    That totally annoys me too! I want to run just because! And I want to dance because I love it! Calories don’t even come into this. We were born to be dynamic ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. It’s so irritating when people make comments like that! I’m sure that this person was probably jealous… It’s so tough when people don’t “get it”- whether it’s about diet, exercise, or anything really! You are doing what makes you feel happy and healthy and you’re taking great care of yourself which is all that matters!
    And- the bfast picture doesn’t look ugly! I think it looks yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I think it’s so rude that people would comment on something like that! I don’t know why it’s taboo to talk about people being overweight but it’s fine to make comments that a person looks anorexic. Ugh! Only you know what is best for you- ignore everyone else ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s exactly what it is… it’s apparently completely socially acceptable for some people to say “you’re so thin” to your face when saying “you’re so fat” would be completely unacceptable – to the same people! Weird…
      Thank you very much ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I hate comments like that, I’m starting to get them now and it does my head in. I think your right about how its fuelled by other peoples insecurities x

  10. I am on the opposite end of that spectrum… I am a little heavier than I should be, and because of it people misread me as being weak. Whenever I’m lifting something heavy or carrying a bunch of things or moving some furniture or whatever, people are always like “Oh, I didn’t realize you were so strong,” and that pisses me right off ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Such hurtful comments aren’t worth wasting your energy on. As long as you know that you are healthy and feel secure within yourself, that is what really matters. I hope you didn’t take those comments to heart!! x

  12. Exactly; thank you so much!
    I didn’t feel hurt by them, just did half-wonder whether I shouldn’t be doing it… but all these comments helped me realise I’m not; thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

