Looks aren’t everything

… which is a good thing really, when you see plates like this:

I think it’s fair to say today’s adaptation of coconut flour pancakes (2tbsp flour, 1 flax egg, 2 beaten egg whites, mashed banana and 1tbsp milk) could be counted under the “epic failure” heading.

Weird-looking “batter”? Check.

Difficult to mix? Check.

Sticking to the pan and a nightmare to turn over? Check

But there was something to put on the plate and, covered with banana/almond butter mashup, well, if anything, it may even have looked worse:

But it tasted great! And if you could have the choice between food looking good and tasting good, I know which I’d choose 🙂

I saw this ABC questionnaire on Christin’s blog the other day and thought it was a great idea (I’m so nosy, I love things like that!) so I thought it was only fair for me to do my own…

A) Age: Somewhere between 21, and 81 🙂

B) Bed size: Single – I prefer it because, this is weird, I like having a single duvet or there’s just too much there… (And my bedroom’s too small for anything else!)

C) Chore you hate: Cleaning the plughole of the shower. Ewwwww

D) Dogs: My family’s border collies, Dylan and Dougal, live with my mum and dad. How could you resist these faces…

E) Essential start-your-day item: Breakfast (sounds stupidly obvious but I can’t go without. No way.)

F) Favourite colour: Errr……. blue?

G) Gold or silver: Silver

H) Height: 5’7″

I) Instruments you play: Guitar (a bit), piano (but not for ages)

J) Job title: Chief reporter (It’s very sad but I LOVE having the word “chief” in my job title! I think I’d even prefer that to “editor” 🙂 )

K) Kids: Love ’em – but couldn’t eat a whole one…

L) Live: Near Ashford in Kent

M) Mum’s name: Elizabeth

N) Nicknames: Jonesey (at work), Stinks (best friend; long-standing joke!) Phunt (as in Elly-phunt; stems from when I used to hang around with some hilarious boys…)

O) Overnight hospital stays: Yes, but as I was 0 hours old, I don’t remember too much of it… 🙂

P) Pet peeve: Where do I start?! People who drive in the middle/fast lane when there’s no one on their left, sub-editors at work changing copy for no reason other than they think their version is better – and then getting it WRONG! I could go on…

Q) Quote from a film: “Tonight is the night the world stood up and cried with one voice, we will not go quietly into the night, we will not vanish without a fight, we’re going to live on… ” etc, cue shouts of “yeah, Mr President!” Cheesy film-y greatness 🙂

R) Right or left-handed: Right

S) Siblings: Two sisters, one older, one younger, one brother

T) Time you wake up: 6am. Urrghh.

U) Underwear: Clean, thank you 🙂

V) Vegetable you dislike: Sprouts *shudder*

W) What makes you run late: Everything. There’s no hope.

X) X-Rays you’ve had: Chest, bone marrow, teeth

Y) Yummy food you make: Banana bread (and current favourite coconut rolls)

Z) Zoo, favourite animal: Tapirs. The staff at the one near me call the babies watermelons and they look EXACTLY like little black ones. I want a tapir!

Pick a letter and tell me your answer…  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Looks aren’t everything

  1. Most of my best tasting meals look bad – brown food is the worst for that!
    Zoo, favourite animal – the bats in the bat house at Chester Zoo are the coolest 🙂

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Interesting ABC list. I love Tapirs too, so I think I’ll choose that as my letter and answer. 🙂

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Is that quote from Independence Day? Or am I being dense? I have to know!

    To me those pancakes DO look tasty: the most aesthetically presented food always seems so prissy to me that it seems almost too intimidating to eat (I say almost, but I will eat anything if it’s vegan!)

    I would choose ‘T’ as my letter but it would be hypocritical of me because to wake up one has to go to sleep first 😉

    xxx

    • Hooray! Glad you got it… it’s the bit where he’s trying to gee them all up to fight the aliens… such a supreme and brilliant moment of cheesiness!
      And thank you; I agree with you in that those gourmet tiny little piles of beautifully-arranged food look like they couldn’t possibly taste nice, maybe because you assume all the effort’s gone into the presentation!
      Yuk; insomnia is a horrible thing; really feel for you xx

  4. All of my meals are not exactly photo worthy, but as long as they taste good, what else could you ask for? 🙂

  5. Border Collies are so sweet! Love them!

    Random, but we’re almost the same height! I’m 5’8. 🙂

  6. I really like your ABCs! Love reading stuff like this about bloggers 🙂
    Height… I’m 5’1″- and barely! So far in all of these that I’ve read, nobody is as short as me!

  7. Love those pupper faces! And you are cracking me UP with your answer to Kids… 😀

  8. Pingback: Lateness | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

