Wet weekend, part II

It was great to hear my mum wasn’t the only one with her little sayings! Another good one was “a face like a bulldog chewing a wasp” which always evoked such entertaining mental pictures…

But as far as wet weekends go, today wasn’t much better than yesterday; grey, cold and miserable ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The Sunday roast got postponed too. The people coming from London couldn’t get there so they’re doing it hopefully next weekend instead.

I made up for it with loads of other deliciousness, starting with banana bread French toast:

Of course, having said yesterday that weekend breakfasts are now all about pancakes and that ALL breakfasts were about oats, I didn’t fancy either this morning… but it’s been far too long since I’ve had banana bread French toast and it’s so good, expecially with a pb/jam mash-up on top.

I realised after that that I needed to replenish the banana bread stocks, so I made a loaf with my new BFF, aka flax seed, instead of egg whites and with the addition of another new friend:

I was tempted by some avocado oil I saw in Sainsbury’s the other day but was not going to shell out more than four quid on it. This almond oil was much cheaper and I thought well worth a go. I used 1tbsp in place of one of the tablespoons of apple puree but as this bread seems to be best when it’s been left a couple of days before you slice it, I’ll have to come back to you on that one!

I also managed to leave the top off it. Then, when I was putting a bowl away in the cupboard above, I managed to drop the bowl, just catch itย but knock the oil flying. A sensible person would have put the top back on… (act of stupidity of the day number one)

Luckily, not much was spilt, so I also used it in this:

A version of Elana’s banana chocolate cake.

In case you were wondering though, it’s without the chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve never really got the banana/chocolate combination so I just made banana cake. But (act of stupidity number two coming right up) managed to forget that leaving out the cocoa powder would leave no dry ingredients. It looked promising anyway in the tin but once it came out…

Yep, that is officially the thinnest cake ever.

It probably wasn’t helped by the fact I only had two eggs… so it was only 2/3 quantities. Oops.

I’d also replaced some of the oil with coconut cream,ย used maple syrup instead of agave andย less sweetener than it said because I wasn’t using the cocoa but actually…

It was really good! I had some with almond butter on top and the combination of the flavours was yummmmm… it’s more of a pudding than a cake but if you like the banana/chocolate combo, I’d definitely try the original.

Maybe not so stupid after all ๐Ÿ™‚

Edit – and as far as the pb cookies go from yesterday, I will make them again and put the recipe up. They’ve got polenta in them, which makes really nice crunchy cookies, but as I found I only had 37g left, the quantities were a bit, er, fiddly to say the least!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wet weekend, part II

  1. that sure looks good! and hey it may be short but it looks nice and dense!

  2. Now I have this odd vision of a bulldog chewing on a wasp… like you said, strange mental images, haha!

    Aww, it sounds like you need some sunshine to come your way! Hopefully soon.

    And your banana cake looks yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That chocolateless banana chocolate cake sounds awesome! And I’d actually like the fact it’s a bit thinner. Big fat cakes are common, thin cakes arent. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. God, that cake looks good! Especially with the almond butter on top- what a good combo!

  5. the cake looks good even though you changed the recipe- I am always doing stuff like that in my kitchen. I will eat almost anything though ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Short but sweet… sounds good to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Your cake looks and sounds lovely. It looks really soft and fluffy inside!

  8. The cake looks lovely- I prefer thinner cakes (eg brownie style ones) rather than big fluffy cakes anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I’ve never heard the bulldog/wasp saying, but I like it!
    Sometimes the biggest “failures” in the kitchen taste the nicest. I keep thinking I should do some more baking, but my housemate is so much better at it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Well if you get all the benefit without actually having to do it, that’s got to be the way forward ๐Ÿ™‚ I live on my own, so if any cooking’s going to be done, it’s got to be me doing it – not great when you get in at 8pm starving!

  10. Stacey says:

    Who cares that you didn’t follow the recipe and made substitutions if it tastes fab anyway?! Besides, this way you can claim it as your very own recipe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Pingback: Daffodils and coconut | Eating like a horse

  12. Pingback: Plum crazy | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

