A face like a wet weekend

That’s what my mum used to say to us if we were sulking – and it was apt today!

That’s because it was grey, cold, miserable and raining, just to clarify, not because I was sulking… or not particularly πŸ™‚

But it was a good day, starting with these:

Banana + oats + flour + milk + pb and jam = yum.

I’m a convert to the religion that is pancakesforweekendbreakfasts-ism – but those oats are persistent buggers and manage to sneak their way into most breakfasts, it’s very strange πŸ™‚

I then spent much of the day with one of my best friends from school. We were really close then but, we realised today, hadn’t seen each other since her wedding – in 2005! But, thanks to the wonder of Facebook, we got back in touch and now she’s moved from London to 20 minutes’ drive from me.

We got on like we’d last met a week ago, rather than nearly six years, her husband’s lovely and her two sons are adorable (I told one of them how cute he was and he said “yes, I am” as if it was a given – brilliant!)

I also managed to get up the yard and ride Dave while it wasn’t raining , so good all round.

I’d meant to do loads of cooking this weekend but as I was at my friend’s for so long today, and they invited me for Sunday lunch tomorrow as they’ve got some friends coming down from London, it doesn’t look like much baking will get done…

Except these:

Presenting… crispy, crunchy peanut butter cookies!

I’m not going to post the recipe yet because, to be honest, I’m not 100% sure what it wasΒ  πŸ™‚

Also, some terrible thief had stolen my decent-sized cookie cutter (it’s not that I’ve lost it) and these were tiny. ANDΒ I’m also not sure how long I baked for… all of which ain’t very helpful really!

I can reveal though that they do spread while cooking, which means that, if they’re not placed far enough apart, you get a familiar outline:

It’s not going to be a hardship to make them again though, only so I can share the recipe of course. It’s not that they’re so addictive, Mickey there only lasted about .45 of a second πŸ™‚

Hope everyone’s having a brilliant weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A face like a wet weekend

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    Yes, my Dad likes to use that phrase too…and this most certainly has been a wet week-end so far!

    Hope the sun shines for you tomorrow and your Sunday is filled with more lovely pancakes!

    xxx

  2. Mmm crispy peanut butter cookies! I’m not sure I’ve ever had them like that. Can’t wait for the recipe!

  3. I am a huge fan of both soft and crunchy peanut butter cookies… these sound perfect to be paired with a glass of almond milk!

  4. Yay a hidden mickey cookie- the best type by far! PB cookies rule! πŸ™‚

  5. Those cookies are so cute in a Mickey shape πŸ™‚
    It’s so nice catching up with old friends and it’s good that you still get on well!

  6. Your pancakes sound FABULOUS! πŸ˜€ I love PB&J! πŸ™‚

  7. LOL Face like a wet weekend! That is hilarious- I’m totally going to start using that as much as I can haha.
    The cookies look delish πŸ™‚

  8. quirkyrunner says:

    hee hee! my mum used to say “you’ve got a face like an elephant’s backside!!”
    Hmmm….!!!

  9. I LOVE peanut butter cookies! I can’t even remember the last time I had one- that must be fixed!

  10. Haha! I’ve never heard that phrase, but it’s great. I’ll be sure to use it on my kiddos someday. πŸ˜‰

    Also, so cute that the little boy was like “yes, I am” when you said he was cute! πŸ˜‰

Thank you for commenting!

