Love is in the pear

Ok, it’s confession time.

Anyone who has ever read this blog will no doubt be aware of my love for a good (or rather a bad) pun as a post title and the general rule is, the more rubbish it is, the more I like it.

But as far as today’s goes, I have to confess that the title inspired the breakfast rather than the other way round.

In my defence, I had been meaning to make another version of the breakfast-worthy apple crumble for ages, and this pear was just crying out to be crumbled… but yeah. It was all about the comedy (or not), I hold my hands up πŸ™‚

So I made the crumble in exactly the same way as before, last night, and then reheated this morning and served with thinner coconut cream (2tsp coconut flour with 2 tbsp milk and a blob of strawberry jam). It would have served me right if it had been horrible – but it was as good as before and very filling.

Oaty, fruity, coconutty goodness; mmmmm πŸ™‚

And back, in a tortuous fashion, to today… how are you spending your Valentine’s?

I’m not fussed about it and that’s not because I’m single. (Honest!) I was never too keen on it even when I’ve been with someone…Β 

Take one year, my ex, bless him, bought me a bunch of flowers with red roses in it. I was really grateful, however hideously ungrateful this is going to sound, but he handed them over with the air of a man who’s done his duty. It didn’t help that he also mentioned a bloke at work who’d “had to buy his girlfriend something else because he hadn’t spent enough on her”!

Not nice. Whereas once, the same ex bought me some lovely purple daisy-type flowers, on a random Saturday, for no other reason than because he wanted to. They lasted for weeks and I treasured them because, he said, he just bought them because he loved me.

I think the best Valentine’s I’ve ever had was when a group of us all just went out, it was a random weeknight, went into town and just had a real laugh; it was brilliant…Β 

Β But let’s be honest, if a certain fit lawyer had asked me out for dinner, and not in the court canteen, would I have said no? Errr… πŸ™‚

What’s your take on Valentine’s? I hope everyone had a lovely one, whatever they were doing.

Ps, remember the lemurs? I mentioned, in the piece I wrote about them, that it was Typhoo tea they usually drank – and the press officer told me today Typhoo saw the article and sent them loads of tea bags! How good is that, but I think I might just mention how much I love Audi A3s next time… πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Love is in the pear

  1. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    luckily you had a pear to eat so that the title could be a reality! πŸ™‚

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    That pear crumble looks great, and funny about the lemurs being sent teabags. πŸ™‚

  3. pear crumble? oh my that sounds delish!

  4. I am so happy the lemurs have more tea!! πŸ˜€

  5. lindsay says:

    such a good idea. Love is pear and I need some of that lovin. I’m married and I totally forgot about valentines day too! Until I got on twitter. hehe. whoops!

  6. In all honesty, my best Valentine’s Days (with the exception of this one) were when I was single. Because then, my friends and I would be each other’s Valentines and it was a ton of fun. πŸ™‚ But back with past boyfriends, their gifts were like those you described. Guess it’s all in finding the right guy.

  7. The best valentines day I ever had was when I was at uni and most of my friends were single. We had a party and my coupled-up friend came along because her bf was mid essay-crisis. We made her a dunce’s hat and sat her in the corner.
    I’m bleh about valentine’s day now I’m with someone – we don’t exchange gifts or cards. I get lovely letters at random times of the year and he’s a great gift-giver at birthdays and Christmas.

  8. Pears in any form are delicious and your crumble looks fabulous!
    Valentine’s day is pretty overrated… birthdays are where it’s at!

  9. Haha, I love the title! I love pears πŸ™‚

  10. Yay love the pun-tastic title and the crumble sound amazing πŸ™‚

  11. Haha! I love your puns! So great. πŸ™‚

    And I would definitely go the Audi A3 route next time… smart move. πŸ˜‰

Thank you for commenting!

