What a beautiful day, I’m the king of all time…

… and nothing is impossible in my all-powerful mind. What a tune! And so appropriate, yesterday anyway:

I spy snowdrops…

And it was this sunny at 4pm!

Might they just be crocuses? I think they might be πŸ™‚

Even the muckheap looks better in the sun. Maybe.

I rode Dave, who only got his winter haircut last week. Don’t look too closely at the straightness (or not) of the lines; clipping’s either something you can do or you can’t. And I can’t πŸ™‚

I then went out with a few friends I hadn’t seen for a while and had a brilliant night. There was a band playing in the pub who were so good… more tunes!

Today didn’t start as well, as I woke up at 7.30am. Grrrr. Despite my best efforts, there wasn’t any getting back to sleep so I thought I might as well get up and make pancakes.

I thought it was about time I tried some vegan ones so, inspired by Jenny’s recipe, I mixed 4tbsp oats, 1tbsp GF brown flour, 1tbsp soya yoghurt, 2tsp flax with 2tbsp warm water,Β 1/4tsp baking powder and enough soya milk and water to make it gloopy… what a winner!

These are so filling and I can’t believe how well the flax “egg” worked in these; I had my doubts as far as pancakes went but these had such a good texture, I think I’ll use the flax in the future.

I topped them with a banana/pb sauce – perfect.

I’m off now for a bike ride, a stocking-up trip to Holland and Barrett and to ride Dave, all while hoping the sun comes out again…

Hope everyone has a great SundayΒ – anyone got exciting plans?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to What a beautiful day, I’m the king of all time…

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Lovely photo of Dave – his clip looks fine to me! πŸ™‚ Love the pancakes as well – isn’t Jenny’s recipe great?

  2. Dave looks so handsome! I love when they’re clipped like that. And I totally understand the muck heap looking better in the sun. When working at a riding camp, the early morning was the best the muck heap ever looked. The appeal kind of went away once it reach 100*..but it was nice for the time being. πŸ˜›

    • They look so much smarter don’t they? He was a proper furry carthorse before πŸ™‚
      and I feel your pain… it doesn’t get nearly that hot here but I can half-imagine the heat – nasty!

  3. DAve looks so so cute!! and blah a boring sunday for me!

  4. Yummy looking pancakes pancakes – pancake day must be coming up soon, this is definitely putting me in the mood!

  5. the pancakes in the last picture look amazing! I feel like I can taste them right now πŸ™‚
    PS- the gyoza you asked about in my last post are dumplings filled with veggies!

  6. ~Jessica~ says:

    Nice weather just makes everything better in general, and those are some lovely pictures. Just looking at them made me feel perkier as it was wet and dreary where I am today.

    Dave is gorgeous! Such a poser for the camera too πŸ˜‰

    xxx

    • It was miserable and freezing here too; it was asking for trouble posting that in the morning!
      Thank you! He’d have looked better if I’d brushed the mud off… but he’s definitely got that “check me out” poserness πŸ™‚

  7. Link the Cat says:

    Pancakes and/or waffles are the best way to start off the weekend!

  8. oops, the above comment is actually me! I was signed in as my cat’s blog and didn’t notice. (yes, my cat has a blog…lol)

  9. Those pancakes look delicious. I would love to try some peanut flour, it looks fab!

  10. I have never seen a horse clipped like that before! What’s the purpose?

    • It’s because they get so hairy with their winter coats that when they’re worked they get really hot and sweat loads, then you risk them getting a chill and all sorts so it’s better to clip it off the bits that get hottest. With Dave, that’s his neck and the bit under his belly where his saddle does up, then I leave it over his back to keep him warm. The (attempts) at nice lines round the top of his legs are supposed to make it look nice and smart – when the lines are straight!

  11. Those pancakes look so good! I really love flax in baked goods. I think it adds a perfect subtle flavor and a really great texture. The topping looks delicious too πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Thank Crunchie | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

