A funny story…

Well, funny in hindsight… 🙂

Today’s post has nothing to do with food and nothing to do with veganism.

Yes, one was eaten, and in keeping with the other, but this is about my car.

(Not covered in the nasty s-word today, thankfully!)

I love my car.

It may be 12 years old, with 146,000 miles on the clock, a dented bonnet and a hole in the back light but it’s always got me from A to B (however much I’ve tried to get to C…)

But, like the other cars I’ve had, my trusty Golf has its eccentricities. Things sometimes work and sometimes don’t.

Sometimes the boot won’t open, sometimes the beeper doesn’t go off when you leave the lights on and open the door, sometimes the front of the glove box falls off (usually on some unsuspecting passenger’s knees).

But it surpassed itself this morning.

The temperature had dropped from 10C at 6pm to -1.5C at 7am and there was a thick layer of ice on the windscreen when I left for work. I turned on the ignition to let the heaters do their thang while the ice scraper and I did ours and soon, the glass was all clear.

I opened the door and got in – or would have done, if the door had opened…

My car had managed to lock itself while the keys were in the ignition and the engine was running. My brain actually struggled to put the facts together for a minute but I feel sorry for the old boy walking his dog past at that moment. He only meant to say “morning” and had not expected this wild-eyed woman telling him that although she had a spare car key,
her house key was on the keys in the ignition – and the house was locked.

My neighbours have a spare but I borrowed it the other week and forgot to give it back…

I ran round the back of my house with one hope… and luckily, I’d forgotten to lock the back door when I came in from the horses and so could get the spare key.

It could have been so, so much worse. Entertaining though and, as I told my boss, it made an unusual excuse for being late!

Have you ever had that “I can’t believe what’s going on” feeling? Have you ever had the relief when the one thing you’re hoping for turns out to be true?

And does anyone else suffer from these really random but stupid things – or is it just me??!

Hee hee, hope you’ve had a good Tuesday  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A funny story…

  1. Casey says:

    Oh no you poor thing! The cold temps are just the cherry on top, huh.
    I find that I always realize I forgot my key in the exact moment that the door closes.

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Oh no sorry about your car! Glad you got it sorted in the end!

  3. My car is really old too! He will be 15 this year 🙂 It has a lot of eccentricities as well… it can’t go in reverse sometimes! That’s always fun when you’re trying to make a U-turn…

  4. I’ve totally locked my keys in the car while it was running too… so embarrassing!

  5. Wow, that must have been stressful! Locking keys in the car’s enough without it running while it happens! :/ At least you were able to look back and laugh. 🙂

  6. ~Jessica~ says:

    Doh! Things like that always seem to happen to me too. Thank goodness I don’t have a car to lock myself out of 😉

    So glad you’re okay though: I’d have had a total panic attack so well done for having the presence of mind to re-check the back door.

    xxx

  7. That’s pretty hilarious, but I can’t even imagine that terrible sinking feeling at the time! You’re not the only one to do things like that though. The boy and I once locked ourselves out the weekend our housemates were out of the country, which meant shimming up the drainpipe and climbing into an upstairs window. Neighbours didn’t bat an eyelid!

    So glad it turned out okay in the end, quick thinking with the back door!
    xxx

    • Oh no; and it makes you think when the neighbours don’t even notice!
      My jaw did literally almost hit my chest though and could have been nasty; I’ve never been grateful for my own forgetfulness before 🙂 xx

  8. Stupid things like that happen to me all the time. The most frequent “relief” moments are usually when I find my house/car/work keys after half an hour looking for them only to find that they were hiding at the bottom of my handbag the whole time … almost a daily occurance!

Thank you for commenting!

