And so it vegan…

Sorry 🙂

So the first vegan day’s been great.

I had some comments at work like “you’ll be coming in on a stretcher on Friday” and “you’re thin enough anyway” – all jokingly, bless them, but even the ones who seem to agree with me that being vegan doesn’t equate to being less healthy haven’t looked convinced!

But to be honest, breakfast was no different from what it might otherwise have been:

I used Katie’s voluminous oatmeal trick, which did exactly what it says on the tin 🙂

I’m a firm believer in the “more is more” philosophy when it comes to breakfast so this, with the addition of banana and peanut butter, couldn’t have been a better start to veganism!

Lunch was some baked beans”. I made them a while ago, by cooking chick peas with tinned tomatoes, herbs and garlic, and froze portions. Forgot to take a picture today, but it was the beans from below with a brown GF roll:

And some soya yoghurt. I’d wanted to buy the vanilla one but they only had plain yesterday. I thought I’d need to add some flavour but it’s so good as it is.

I did add a cheeky blob of jam though 🙂

For dinner, I made a “quiche” inspired by the Happy Herbivore:

One box of silken tofu, blended with 1tbsp nutritional yeast and some garlic powder. I sauted mushrooms and a couple of random bits of tomato and pepper, mixed it in and baked for 20-ish minutes at 180C.

With roasted carrot and butternut and the usual steamed mountain, this was perfect. Not only something I’ll have again, vegan diet or not, but a recipe that leaves enough for lunch tomorrow. And you can’t argue with that  🙂

And I’m not going short on the chocolate front either, also thanks to Chocolate-Covered Katie. I always read Katie’s brilliant blog but I’m on the case with her recipes at the moment!

I made mountains a few of her Fudge Babies yesterday, in preparation. I went through a phase in the summer of total addiction to these (not sure why that tailed off…)

They’re amazing; like the most decadent truffles ever but gluten-free and vegan. I made my all-time favourites, with Brazils, cashews and walnuts, and also some peanut and peanut butter variations.

The only problem is, I’m struggling to get the lid on the box of them, so what’s a girl to do?!

Thank you so much to Katie for these… I’ve also got my beady little eye on her mushroom stroganoff for later in the week 🙂

But what I really want to do, to make people at work realise what it’s all about, is to go in on Friday with some serious, bad-boy vegan cupcakes.

I want the most decadent-tasting, amazingly delicious, arse-kicking vegan cupcakes going… any suggestions?!

Hope everyone’s had a great Monday 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to And so it vegan…

  1. Hahaha best post title I’ve read all day! 😉

  2. I must try those fudge babies! They look to die for.

    Wonderful start to your vegan eats!

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    Love the post title! All the food looks great, and love the fudge babies! 😀

  4. Aww aww aww! So super-sweet :). Such a cute post!

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Hpmh, I wish I got comments like that (of the thin variety, not the anti-vegan variety!)

    I’d really recommend that Mushroom Stroganoff recipe ~ it’s lovely, even though I missed out a few ingredients for IBS reasons. So I’m sure the ‘authentic’ version is even better.

    xxx

  6. Haha, the title is too funny! Glad that you’re enjoying your first day of veganism. Anyone would think veganism looked good if they saw what you ate! Yum!

  7. A lot of people view going vegan as a way to get really thin, but that’s not true at all! A lot of vegan foods are really energy dense but super healthy. I think you’ll have fun with the diet!

  8. EAT them all!! dont want them to go bad now do we? GREAT eats.. i want to make fudge babies!

  9. Love the post title!
    I bet if you look on oh she glows you will get amazing cupcake recipes.
    I made the pumpkin spiced gingerbread from there and its totally amazing 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

