Sunday – is a day of rest

Yeah right.

Although had I gone out last night, as planned, today would no doubt have been different. But because I was still feeling rubbish yesterday afternoon from Friday, I rescheduled the night out and got to bed at a reasonable time (rock ‘n’ roll confession 1)

So I got up earlyish. And had a brilliant breakfast waiting.

A baked apple! I was struck by an idea yesterday when I saw my last apple was looking a bit sad and bruised. I put 2tbsp oats to soak in 5tbsp water and then cut the top off the apple and dug out the inside.

I chucked the core and chopped the rest, mixing it with the soaked oats, almond butter and a squirt of maple syrup, then put the “lid” back on:

I baked for about half an hour at 180C then reheated it this morning, serving it with a blob of coconut cream:

No words needed πŸ™‚

I then went food shopping and to the recycling centre (rock ‘n’ roll confession 2). When I got back, I had some sort of mission fitting everything into the fridge…

Clearly that one day of vegetable deprivation has addled what passes for my brain πŸ™‚

I then did some silly amounts of baking. Some was boring but necessary:

Pancakes for this week’s sandwiches. I also made some more pittas:

I used half butternut and half sweet potato and roasted them this time… love the orange colour!

But I’m most proud of these….

Oh yes. Those would be chocolate and peanut butter brownies.

But with a secret ingredient…

I want to tempt you with this picture before I reveal it:

And the secret ingredient is………..

Wait!

Come back!

It works!

πŸ™‚

I needed to make brownies and visions of peanut butter versions had been drifting through my head. Reaching into the cupboard to seize the PB though, my hot little hand was stopped by the mayonnaise…

I wanted squidgey and I wanted softness and I thought…. why not? I’m sure I’ve heard of mayonnaise cake before…

Preheat oven to 160C and take:

90g PB (you can use smooth but please use crunchy! The pieces of peanut MAKE these!)

60g mayonnaise

200g sugar (I used mostly brown but some caster)

75g flour (I used brown rice flour)

50g cocoa powder

2Β eggs

1/2 tsp baking powder

Mix PB, mayonnaise, egg and sugar till really creamy and well-blended. Sieve in dry ingredients and fold in till completely mixed. Lick that bowl like there’s no tomorrow (to be fair, if you can avoid doing this, you’re better than I am)

Pour into greased/lined baking tin and cook for 30-35 minutes till the top’s firm but a skewer still has some cake-ness on it.

Avoid lifting up the lining to check if it’s done – it breaks the brownies πŸ™‚

Well squidginess was what I wanted. Chocolate and peanut butter was what I wanted. Brownies were what I wanted…

And I got ’em.

With knobs on πŸ™‚

To complete my day of “rest”, I’m going to cycle up the yard now to sort Dave out!

Hope everyone’s had a good one. Are you a Sunday rester or do you get on with stuff??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunday – is a day of rest

  1. wow!! i LOVE your oat-apple thing and those brownies!! its a brownie weekend for the both of us!

    • That’s where the inspiration came from – I wondered! I’d eaten all my tofu pudding so couldn’t make yours, although they looked amazing but the idea obviously stuck in my head so thank you!

  2. Do you know the brownies look so good, but I really do not like mayonaise at all, so I am afraid once I knew it was in there, I could not eat them!
    But glad you like them πŸ™‚

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Ooh, that baked apple looks beautiful πŸ™‚

    I wasn’t shocked by your mayo addition ~ my Mum used to make choccie brownies with mayo when I was little and they were utterly delicious.

    I don’t understand the obligation for Sunday to be a day of rest unless you’re ultra-religious. Personally, it’s the day when I seem to get the most done!

    ❀

    xxx

  4. NEVER would have thought to put mayo in brownies!! That’s really cool. And I love the baked apple, too. I’ve always wanted to try one but really don’t like cooked apples. Which makes me wonder why they seem appetizing..just one of those things I guess. πŸ˜›

    • It worked really well; gave them a lovely moist (sorry!) texture… and thank you, know what you mean about things you crave but then realise you don’t like, I’m the same… weird πŸ™‚

  5. I love your apple! What a perfect little serving vessel πŸ™‚

  6. Holy cow, mayo in brownies? That is one of the weirdest secret ingredients ever… I almost want to go out and buy some mayonnaise to try it. I’m trying to rationalise it to myself here, I’ve definitely heard of sour cream etc. used in cake, so this can’t be far off, right?
    It just seems so… wrong. Serious kudos to you for being brave and experimenting. I have to admit the finished product looks damn good! Food adventurosity (as of now, that’s a real word) beats mayo oddity, hands down.

    And on the topic of Sunday’s… I tend to find myself busy with all those things I planned to do at a leisurely pace over the course of the whole weekend. But then they get left until the last minute! I hope Sunday night is giving you plenty of rest, even if the day didn’t. πŸ™‚

    xxx

    • I’m not sure if there is a rationalisation! But yours sounds good so I’ll stick to that πŸ™‚
      I know it seems wrong though; I’m going to take the rest of these to work tomorrow and I definitely WON’T be telling the boys about the mayo or they’d never eat them!
      That’s the problem with days off – because it’s the only time you get to do things, you don’t stop… and I think there’s definitely a Sunday night homework mentality in there xx

  7. Little Bookworm says:

    Never heard of mayonnaise in brownies sounds interesting though! Love the idea of that baked apple as well!

  8. oatsandspice says:

    Wow that baked apple looks amazinggg… I want one right now πŸ™‚

    Your blog it so cute! I can’t wait to read more… I just started blogging about two month ago – it is SO addicting πŸ™‚ Check out my page if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  9. Casey says:

    Ooh homemade pita’s.
    I like!
    and I think it’s safe to say I’ve never heard of mayo in brownies either, but they look like they turned out great?
    Who am I to talk though. I tend to add beans to my bake goods all the time πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! I love the home made pittas, not just because it’s so hard to find GF ones that you don’t need a mortgage to buy.
      I don’t know if it was down to the mayo but the brownies had a brilliant texture; think I’m going to have to start experimenting… πŸ™‚
      And I haven’t made enough baked goods with beans in them; I’ll come to your blog and have a look for ideas!

  10. Pingback: A challenge | Eating like a horse

  11. Pingback: A big thank you | Eating like a horse

  12. Pingback: Gentlemen prefer… | Eating like a horse

  13. My Mom’s timeless classic, sour cream cookies, follows this same idea.
    I’ve more recently utilized the powers of greek yogurt for today’s “modern” times.

    I like mayo too. Clever and cute! Hope to enjoy this recipe some time! Thanks for posting πŸ˜€

Thank you for commenting!

