Coconut joy

You know when you see someone’s recipe and know straight away you HAVE to make it?!

That’s what I had this week ๐Ÿ™‚

Heather had mentioned Sarena’s coconut cream a couple of times and I knew I wanted it. Big time.

I also had my beady little eye on Heather’s coconut flour pancakes so today, once I’d got back from doing the horses, I got coconutting…

I made the same quantities as Heather did in that post, using this again as the milk in both the pancakes and the cream:ย 

Andย  – wow.

It always amazes me how much more liquid coconut flour absorbs than any other type. But this, and the separate whipping of the egg whites, results in the most fluffy pancakes ever. The coconut cream is also fluffy too, in a really weird (but delicious)ย way!

So good, and with the St Dalfour strawberry jam mixed in……………. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m now thinking of all the other breakfasts this coconut cream could go on or in; baked porridge, French toast, in a butternut pitta with banana – it’s got such a great texture and so healthy!

I think it would also be good just as pudding on its own…

But the coconut flour got me thinking (always dangerous!)

I used to use it loads and then pretty much forgot about it. But its unique texture and properties mean it’s got to be worth doing more with…

Although maybe not this!

I decided to try making some carrot bread with coconut flour.

It looks ok.

It might be revolting.

If it is, I’ll never mention it again and insteadย move seamlessly on to something else in my next post. If it is edible, or nearly, I’ll let you know!

Hope everyone is having a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Coconut joy

  1. I don’t see how carrot cake made with coconut flour could possibly be revolting. Even if the texture is off, I bet it will still be delicious.

    So happy to hear you enjoyed some coconutty goodness this morning. I to am amazed by how much liquid coconut flour can absorb. Whenever I make the cream, it always seems so liquidy at first but quickly turns into a thick paste. I love that recipe – glad you tried it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. bakebooks says:

    Impressive! I agree with HEAB – anything with carrot cake is good ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. wow! coconut flour sounds awesome- ive never tried it!! surprised it absorbs so easily

  4. I LOVE coconut! Anything coconut is amazing in my book, for sure! I want some coconut cream!!!

  5. Coconut recipes using that flour..or milk or anything always have me wishing I could try them out…but I haven’t been able to find the flour around here anywhere!

  6. I’m not a huge fan of coconut, but even I have to admit these look amazing!

  7. Little Bookworm says:

    Hope the cake turned out ok! I’ve never had coconut flour – it sounds interesting though!

  8. Yuumy those pancakes look amazing!! Where did you get your coconut flour from out of interest?

    And the cake looks delish by the way! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Pingback: Sunday – is a day of rest | Eating like a horse

  10. Coconut carrot bread actually sounds more appetizing to me than normal carrot bread! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you for commenting!

