Phew…

Back, all in one piece – and free to eat what I want again!

Thank you for the lovely comments on my last post. As it turned out, my (almost) food-free Thursday wasn’t too bad. I was in court all day (reporting, not as a defendant!) so didn’t have too much time to think about being hungry and when I got home, I had some vegetable stock in hot water which smelt enough like soup to keep me, not happy, but okΒ  πŸ™‚

And I’d had a huge breakfast:

Thank you so muchΒ to Jessica, who suggested polenta for breakfast! almost-porridge and, with this Kara coconut milk I’d spotted on Laura’s blog, it was lovely.

So was theΒ mountain of chocolate I had afterwards πŸ™‚

Today was ok too. I’ve got a vague memory of me, sedated, thinking I was being really witty during the procedure and cracking “jokes”… it’s a memory I’d rather forget.

Although it’s not quite as bad as the last time I was sedated, for which I had a really fit anaesthetist. I’m glad I can’t fully remember my half-conscious attempts at flirtation, bearing in mind I was wearing a sexy hospital gown and paper pants at the time… I can remember the terrified look on the poor man’s face though…

Anyway! Today, the nurse had asked me what food I wanted afterwards and I said fruit straight away; I’d been craving it all day and when she brought orange and kiwi slices and red grapes, I was in heaven, made even better by the perfectly-ripe banana provided by my lovely best friend, who picked me up πŸ™‚

But it was all going to be about dinner… the only question was, which of these should it include?

The answer of course, was easy…

All of them!

Another cauliflower risotto, with my favourite sauted blend… so, so good.

I seriously think, after Wednesday and yesterday, if I had to give up either chocolate or vegetables for the rest of my life, it’d be a very, very tricky decision to make!

It’s lucky they’re all healthy, really. I’d be in trouble otherwise!

Hope everyone has a lovely weekend πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Phew…

  1. Glad you got hold of the coconut milk! x

  2. When I had my colonoscopy, I totally remember coming to for a few seconds, lifting my head, seeing my colon on a screen, and putting my head back down. Oops! πŸ˜‰ That day of fasting before the procedure was the worst day of my life!

    • How funny – that’s exactly what I had today – and exactly what I did! I think that sight was what prompted one of my “jokes”…! I’m cringing inside now to think what I might have said… πŸ™‚

      Did you have to drink that vile stuff the night before too?? TWO LITRES of it 😦

  3. Your dinner is beautiful with all of those colors! I would much rather give up veggies over chocolate, but I would miss squash a lot πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I always love the way it’s multicoloured πŸ™‚
      That’s the thing; if you’d asked me before this week, I’d have said the same as you but then, I could find other sweet things but I just couldn’t live without the veg!

  4. Glad your back and everything went well. πŸ™‚ And yay to eating again!!

  5. Casey says:

    I have this cornmeal eyeing my on the shelf and I’ve been thinking about experimenting with polenta. I’ve never seen it as a porridgey breakfast though

    • It’s nice but I think the slow-cooking cornmeal would be better for porridge; this is instant polenta and I’d imagine the slower-cooking stuff gets a better texture.
      It makes a good bread-type thing if you leave it to set then bake or cut it into pieces and saute it… also gives cakes a really nice texture πŸ™‚

  6. omg, those are hilarious stories about what’s gone on sometimes when you’re “under”….but not quite out! haha!

  7. Yum it looks lovely with the coconut milk πŸ™‚

  8. ahh i have such issues with veggies! i EAT BUTT LOADS of them.. your right, its a good thing they are good for yoU!

  9. ~Jessica~ says:

    I’m so happy that you’re okay, and that you liked the polenta πŸ™‚

    Veggies are both my best friend and worst enemy ~ it’s terrible having to limit them but how good they are for me tends to depend on whether the fibre kills my IBS or not 😦 I am suffering broccoli envy at the moment.

    xxx

Thank you for commenting!

