Mesquite and mayhem

Someone was feeling a bit full of himself this morning…

Someone wasn’t too impressed he didn’t get turned out in the field the minute he’d swallowed his breakfast. Someone was even less impressed when all the others did go out and he had to work.

Someone then did his best impression of a giraffe crossed with a kangaroo, ie bouncing down the road with his head in the air…

He did calm down and start acting more like a horse and less like a kangaraffeΒ and we had a good ride.

And to be fair to him, it wasn’t his fault I couldn’t get the gate completely open on the way back…

But then, it wasn’t his leg that ended up wearing the gate post

I sometimes wonder why I decided to have a horse instead of taking up another hobby. Like knitting.

But then at least a ride on Dave is never boring πŸ™‚

My friend had said she’d do the horses this morning but because my new thing if I lie in on a Sunday is, I’m unable to sleep that night, I said I’d do it today.

One thing I love about lazy Sunday mornings is the time to make a lazy breakfast but then I end up faffing about for hours and waste half the day. And today, I still had time to make a very nice breakfast… remember these?

I hadn’t made banana pancakes for ages.

The only problem last time was that they weren’t very filling so I took this:

I don’t know if this is just my weirdness but if I ever buy posh foodie-type, hard-to-get-hold-of ingredients, I want to save them for “something special” – and end up not using them! I bought this months ago and only found it the other day πŸ™‚

But this had impressive protein/fibre/general nutrition statistics so I added a bit (probably about 5g) to the mashed half-banana and 1tbsp egg white and whisked really well to make sure it was blended in properly.

I’ve discovered the key to these pancakes is to keep the heat really low. Then you avoid the chargrilled look of the ones above and they cook without scorching. Also, make sure you can move them about with the spatula and that they’re holding together before you flip.

And you end up with something amazing… I had mine with almond butter sauce (almond butter mixed with equal volume milk) and they were delicious; I love the mesquite! I can see this finding its way into many a Green Monster in the future (and probably everything else, knowing my addictive personality)

The bonus is, you really don’t need much. That 5g-ish gave the pancakes an amazing flavour and they were so much more filling.

That being said, they were so good, I made another lot when I came back from riding. The fact the same quantities only made two this time is pure coincidence and nothing at all to do with the fact that the spoon came alive (honestly) jumped out of the bowl and took a dollop of batter with it. On to the floor. Grrr.

I put strawberry jam on top to make up for it πŸ™‚

Even better.

I now really want to try lucuma/maca powder as well *hears wallet groaning in protest*… has anyone got any recommendations?

Have a great Sunday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mesquite and mayhem

  1. AHH love your pancakes!! i want to check out that powder! sounds like a great investment!

  2. Yum! I’m loving the mesquite at the moment – you’ll love maca too!

  3. I’ve been coveting some maca powder recently, but I’d never heard of mesquite – is it easy to get hold of over here?
    LOL @ Dave the kangaraffe! My old horse used to get delusions of grandeur out on hacks, thinking she was some kind of circus pony. Silly mare.
    I have definitely cracking out the pancakes for breakfast tomorrow. I always find your food very inspirational! xxx

    • Below is the website I got it from; they do lucuma, maca, raw chocolate, cacoa butter… not good for your wallet but lovely stuff!
      Hee hee, they think they’re so clever don’t they?! The thing is, when you know a horse well enough to know when it’s just being stupid, you don’t react and you can almost hear them thinking “what’s the point” and giving up πŸ™‚
      And thank you so much for saying that, really appreciate it! xx

      http://www.detoxyourworld.com/acatalog/food_and_superfoods.html

  4. Little Bookworm says:

    I’ve seen that mesquite meal, never tried it though! Love the look of those pancakes. And Dave’s impression of acting like a giaffe crossed with a kangeroo made me laugh! πŸ™‚

  5. This is the maca powder I use, and I love it.

    http://www.navitasnaturals.com/products/maca/maca-powder.html

    It’s strong and a little goes a very long way!

    I want to kiss Dave’s nose. Horse noses are the best. πŸ™‚

  6. Whenever my horse is acting crazy like that, I have the same thoughts of “why do I love this so much?” haha..they can push us around or even throw us a few times and we still come back to give them love. πŸ˜›

    • I know, it’s hilarious – and they still expect it! Dave knocked me over once, accidentally, and when I finally got up off the floor, he was standing there with this disgusted look, as if to say “what are you doing down there?!” and then looked for a treat… grrr πŸ™‚

  7. Pancakes look and sound amazing right now – I bet that “Mesquite Meal” powder has done wonders so far πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

