Taking a leek…

I’ve been having ideas again…!

A lot of the time, if I find something I like, I immediately think of how else I can use it. I get weird ideas for food which sometimes work…

Sometimes, they don’t, like my disastrous berry pancake idea:

So maybe I should be wary of sudden food-related “bright ideas”… but, luckily enough, today’s did work 🙂

I remembered some spinach and ricotta cannelloni I once had (before my coeliac disease came along) which were amazing and wanted to make something similar.

I used pancakes, spinach and Philadelphia.

Or, to be more accurate, I’d almost run out of spinach, I couldn’t be arsed to make pancakes – and I didn’t fancy Philadelphia 🙂

So what I ended up with (nothing at all like I’d imagined) was…

Ignoring the fact they look completely revolting….

I used leeks instead of spinach, sliced lengthways and into very thin strips, sauted until browned and soft and rolled up, with grated cheese, in rice flour wraps, meant for spring rolls (bought them at Whole Foods ages ago and had forgotten!)

I baked them at 180C for about 10 minutes, just until the cheese had melted. I’d made some more mushroom sauce, just because it was so amazing and I wanted to use it with something else, and served them with the usual suspects. The wraps look much better when you can’t see them 🙂

Luckily, it ain’t about the looks! They were delicious.

The mushroom/leek combination was great and I never get tired of roasted buternut…

Now though, I’m having even more ideas of how to use these spring roll wrappers – so many possibilities…

Hope everyone’s having a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taking a leek…

  1. I almost picked up some spring roll wraps the other day, but decided to go with nori wraps for sushi making first! I love your idea for filling!

  2. They sound DELISH! I love mushrooms and leeks, so a great combo! 😀

    Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog by the way- it meant a lot 🙂

  3. Nice work on the experiment- it is always satisfying when something goes right 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

