Moan-day

Another Monday.

Joy.

Don’t you just love it when you wake up, to the beautiful screech of your alarm clock to find it’s:

a) 6am

b) dark

c) Monday

d) January

e) raining fit for Noah to start getting his hammer out

f) all of the above.

Don’t you just love it when you’ve had five hours’ sleep, owing to your weird inability to sleep on Sunday nights, and, as you’re driving to work, you get to enjoy a thrilling aquaplane ride across the motorway?

Isn’t life great? 🙂

But on the bright side, it was still light (ish) at gone 4.30pm yesterday which makes me happy. I had a combination of banana, oats and almond butter waiting for me to dig into this morning, which makes me happy. And it’s not snowing, which definitely makes me happy!

And I have cookies.

I can’t believe I’ve been blogging since July and have yet to post a picture of a tower of cookies 🙂

Or had yet to do it…

Hooray for cookie towers!

The other night, I had a weird craving for cookies. And as I didn’t have any, I had to make some. It was 10pm but I had to.

I knew I wanted to make pecan cookies (again, not quite sure why!) so I had a look through a few of my GF baking books, found a likely-looking recipe, adapted away…

Pecan/cherry cookies:

Preheat oven to 180C and mix:

125g butter/margarine (I used Flora Light)

100g caster sugar

125g flour (I used my usual Doves Farm brown bread blend)

50g pecans, chopped

50g dried fruit (I used dried cherries, chopped)

1 egg yolk

1tsp baking powder

Cream butter and sugar together till light and fluffy. Beat in egg yolk, followed by flour and baking powder, to give a smooth dough. Fold in nuts and fruit.

Scoop dollops on to lined baking sheets and bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden.

They’re chewy-ish and crisp-ish and I love the pecan/cherry flavour combination – definitely satified the cookie monster 🙂

They spread while they’re cooking too so they end up quite a decent size, even if you only use small spoonfuls of batter (I only used about 1tbsp size and got 28 good-sized ones).

I’m not sure what happened to this sad little one though:

Why no nuts/fruit ended up in it, I don’t know. I ate it pretty quick so it wasn’t left out 🙂

Don’t forget there’s still enough time to enter the giveaway! Have you had a good Monday??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Moan-day

  1. Those cookies sound delish… and yeah, its definitely Monday over here too! 🙂

  2. Ooh those look delicious! I LOVE pecans, and cherries, and cookies, so perfect! 😀

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    Love the tower of cookies photo! 😀

  4. ahhh pass me the cookies!! and ahahahah moan- day.. love it!

  5. Mondays can be really depressing… all we can do is find things that would make this day easier and brighter. Like yummy breakfast and homemade cookies 😉
    I can’t believe I didn’t see that you nominated me!
    I’ve been reading your every post… and my brain just didn’t register I had been nominated. So weird!
    I’m editing my blog post right now… I have to thank you, too 😀
    Thank you so much, Sarah!
    Hope you’re having a great Tuesday, hehe.
    xoxo

  6. Those cookies look amazing! Dried fruit was meant for cookies 🙂

  7. Yummy- cherries sound so good in the cookies 😉

  8. Pingback: Life is good | Eating like a horse

  9. Pingback: Summer loving | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

