Losing my virginity

My green monster virginity, that is 😉

I can’t believe I’d never made one until yesterday. In my defence, I’ve only just got a proper blender but I think there was also a slight thought in my head that how could any drink/pudding made with spinach not be revolting?

But I thought all the people I see blogging about them can’t be wrong so yesterday, I took the plunge:

I just made a small one to start with… 50ml coconut milk, 50ml skimmed milk, half a banana, a handful of spinach and a heaped quarter-teaspoon of xanthan gum to thicken.

And… well they’re not joking when they call it a green monster! The resulting slime looked like something you’d find onthe top of a pond.

It’s almost luminous. Having some serious doubts, I poured it into a posh bowl, took a deep breath – and dived in.

And wished I’d done it sooner 🙂

Amazing texture, great fresh flavour. I half-wrote this post yesterday and had put “I feel a new addiction coming on…”

… and that was confirmed this morning, when I made another one, with all skimmed milk and some frozen raspberries:

Even better. Tomorrow’s is in the blender as we speak!

Are you on the green monster thang? What’s your favourite? And don’t forget, if you want to win the GF recipe book, you’ve still got a day to enter!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Losing my virginity

  1. Nice!! Green monsters really do rock so hard! I love to keep them simple with banana (frozen banana kicks it up to an amazing level of creaminess!), almond milk, and cinnamon…. sometimes with protein powder, sometimes with peanut butter, sometimes with coconut milk kefir… always so delicious! 🙂

  2. I have never tried a green monster! I don’t go for smoothies that much, and the green-ness puts me off. Although I like spinach in dinners, not sure about them for breakkie! Glad you liked it though, there must be a reason why everyone has them….

  3. YAY! i rmrbr when i lost my GM virginity… so glad i did!

  4. Little Bookworm says:

    That is a lovely shade of green! 😛 I have yet to try a GM myself.

  5. Hi there! Just found your blog through Chocolate Covered Katie’s. So glad you’ve joined the Green Monster bandwagon! I tried my first one back in September. I remember thinking it was going to taste like a slimy liquid salad, but it was LOVE at first sip!

    I throw just about anything into my GM’s. I always start with spinach (I’ve also tried kale and it was yummy), 1/2 a banana, and 1/2 cup of almond milk. Sometimes I add protein powder for a little something extra and then I just throw in whatever fruits I have in the freezer! Some turn out bright green like yours and then others (like the one I made the other day) come out this really odd greyish blue color, but they are all SO tasty!

    • Slimy liquid salad perfectly sums up what I thought beforehand! Interesting about the kale though; I thought you’d be able to taste it so I’ll have to give that a go, thank you and thanks for visiting 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

