A giveaway!

How exciting πŸ™‚

Ok not that exciting. It’s not

a) a Vitamix

b) chocolate

c) a year’s paid holiday or

d) all (or any) of the above. Although anyone that is giving those away, feel free to let me know πŸ™‚

It’s got to do with my breakfast today:

To rewind a bit, I got a recipe book for Christmas that I already owned. It reminded me of the originalΒ so I got it back out and was impressed.

I usually use recipe books for ideas more than instructions, which is where the above came from.

From this:

To this.

And when I find out who was too greedy to resist taking a bite from the otherwise perfectly-circular pancake before I could even photograph it, there’s going to be trouble.

Ahem.

And that’s where the giveaway comes in! It’s only a very small and unofficial one but I’ve got two copies of the book, I only need one, it’s a good book… would you like it??

(The new one, that is!)

It’s all gluten- and wheat-free but that doesn’t mean other people won’t benefit. There are loads of breakfast, lunch, dinner and pudding ideas – and some good GF staples. They’re also almost all healthy and each even has nutritional stats!

I don’t know if anyone would like it but if you do, just comment on this post, or, if you’ve got a blog, link back to this and let me know you’ve done it. I’ll pick a winner in a week’s time, so the end of Monday, January 17.

If you don’t want it but do want the pancake, it’s just 30g flour, (I used GF brown bread blend) 1tbsp egg white, 50ml milk (I used part coconut milk, part skimmed) and 10g apple puree, whisked together and poured into a greased omelette pan. Press half a sliced banana into the top and bake at 180C. I left it about 15 minutes then decided I wanted the banana browned so switched the oven to grill but it probably didn’t need that long…

Then, this morning, I topped it with coconut butter mixed with coconut milk, to make it spread more easily, and some strawberry jam.

Heaven. But I was probably most impressed by that perfect circle! Or what would have been a perfect circle… when I catch whoever that was… πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A giveaway!

  1. i would LOVE to win the cookbook!!! πŸ˜€

  2. Sarah says:

    Haaalloo! That cookbook looks identical to one i’m perusing on amazon, so YES, i would LOVE TO ENTER THIS FIRST OFFICIAL GIVEAWAY. what an event!
    OK I’m just going to post on my blog (haha, i assume this would be beneficial if anyoen READ my blog, but i will do it anyway, JUST IN CASE!) Thankyou!! x

  3. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    haha that would have been funny if d was “all of the above”
    it would have been unexpected!

    great post

  4. These pancake (and book!) looks amazing!
    I would totally LOVE to win this giveaway – I want to improve my cooking skills on 2011 πŸ™‚
    The thing is – I live in Brazil. Can I still enter?
    I mean, I’ve never won anything in my life… so, believe me, it wouldn’t be much of a deal if the answer’s “no”.
    But I’m definitely letting people know of you’re giveaway in my next post – great idea, Sarah (above commenter, hehe).
    Hope you’re having a great week!
    xoxo
    Gabriela

  5. Of course! It’s not a heavy book at all so fine to post wherever, althought I might not have been able to say that if it was a Vitamix… πŸ™‚
    Thank you and hope yours is good too (would LOVE to be in Brazil at the moment – England in January isn’t the warmest place in the world!) x

  6. Omigod, I want that book! It makes me feel guilty when I borrow those types of books from the library but I never return it (they have a 100-times maximum renewal policy so I could literally renew it for about a year and a half before I have to return anything! A bad invention on their part, I honestly think, but I love it probably because of the bookworm in me! πŸ˜€ ) so having my very own book would be excellent! And your breakfast looks good, so I definitely want that as well πŸ˜‰

  7. Pingback: Losing my virginity | Eating like a horse

  8. Pingback: Moan-day | Eating like a horse

  9. sarah says:

    I wanna win the cookbook! And your pancake looks awesome, I NEED to make one ASAP.
    X

  10. Pingback: Life is good | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

