Laziness is a virtue

ย Honestly!

It’s lucky because I was feeling very lazy this morning.

After a mission of a week (although it was one day shorter in work terms) I was knackered. My friend’s better so she said she’d do the horses, leaving me to sleep for TEN (count ’em) hours. Happy, happy me.

I then had time to make a lovely lazy breakfast, involving this:

And this is where the other laziness comes in!

I’d used my bargain bananas to make yet another loaf of my favourite banana bread but had to go out as soon as it was ready.

So instead of my usual “start eating while it’s still roasting hot” approach, I left it to cool in the tin. I then, for some reason, had an attack of idleness and kept putting off cutting it up. I always slice it completely at the start so I can freeze someย as not even I can eat a whole loaf before it goes bad ๐Ÿ™‚

But I just couldn’t be arsed! Seriously, it sat in a box on the side for about three days until I eventually got my lazy arse – and knife – into action.

But when I did…..

Look at those slices!

I usually get about 14 slices out of a loaf this size – maybe 15 – and they tend to crumble a bit. But by some magic process to do with sitting on the counter, this loaf had magically fused together!

I cut 17 slices; each one slim, crumble-free and holding together like the daddy himself ๐Ÿ™‚

And that meant more banana bread for me.

It also meant something I’d wanted to make for ages but had no time for:

Banana bread French toast!

I used 1tbsp egg white, 1tbsp milk and a splash of vanilla to soak the slices in, then sauted.

Spread with almond butter and strawberry jam… perfect.

Sometimes laziness does pay off ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Laziness is a virtue

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Congratulations on the banana bread, and lovely flowers in the last post! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. it was already going well until you said banana bread FRENCH TOAST and i just about died- I NEED THAT!

  3. ahhh banana bread – such a yummy breakfast food! love that you added almond butter ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yum, making French toast out of quick breads? I love it! I had pumpkin bread French toast and I wept a little out of sheer joy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. WOW – that sure looks amazing. And very mouth-watering.
    French toast with Banana Bread?!
    I drooool ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Hi! I’m a first time visitor to your blog, and I’m glad I found it !:) That bread looks SO good. What a great breakfast idea!

  7. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    laziness totally is good sometimes. I have a hard time not feeling bad for resting but our bodies need it!

  8. Pingback: Coconut joy | Eating like a horse

  9. Pingback: Wet weekend, part II | Eating like a horse

  10. Pingback: Lateness | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

