Good intentions

Happy Friday!

I had a post planned for today but as it involved cooking, photography and writing about it and I didn’t start making dinner till 9pm (loooong day!) I took an executive decision not to do it 🙂

So instead I thought I’d share two things. First, the flowers above; aren’t they gorgeous?!

My best friend has been struck down by an evil combination of swine flu and a vomiting bug. She’s been so ill she couldn’t get out of bed for days and I’ve been doing her horses. I knew she felt bad about my doing the work, although I didn’t mind at all, but how lovely to send these (and to sign them from her five-month-old daughter, my goddaughter, too).

This was a real “ha ha, flowers for me – what, really?” moment at work when they were delivered. Bless her heart and it put a huge smile on my face 🙂

The second thing I have to share is possibly one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had:

Ok, not to look at, necessarily…!

But this was another baked porridge except instead of spreading banana across the top halfway through cooking, I mashed it, mixed it with almond butter, and put it on the bottom of the (lined) baking dish, then poured the oats/oat bran/water/egg white on top.

I wasn’t sure whether it would work or just mush together but it was delicious. For some reason, the texture was so much creamier and smoother. (And more delicious). And I don’t know how I’d managed to forget just how deliciously delicious (repeated words are seriously justified here!) the banana/almond butter combination is. If you haven’t tried it yet, do so immmediately 🙂

I’m in love….!

Off to bed now… does anyone else see Friday nights as a chance to catch up on sleep instead of going partying?? I wouldn’t have the energy – but maybe that’s just me 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good intentions

  1. Beautiful flowers! Gerbera daisies are my favorite 🙂

  2. Is that what they are? Thank you; I’m not good with flowers and just know they look nice!

  3. oh i have been dying to try baked oatmeal or porridge- ahah! looks yummy… and thosse flowers are gorgeous!

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    Friday nights are what getting some shut-eye was made for. I’m definitely not a party person either.

    Thanks so much for the heads up about the bread ~ I’ll be on the look-out for those the next time I’m in Newcastle. Silly little Durham doesn’t have a Waitrose 😦

  5. Fab flowers 🙂
    Yes I love to stay in on friday night- I am too tired after a week of work to contemplate anything else!

Thank you for commenting!

