Bread for success

My mum’s the best 🙂

One of the (many) brilliant things about her is how thoughtful she is. For example, she knows how much I like Mullerlight dark chocolate-sprinkled vanilla yoghurts so, every now and then, she comes round and leaves a few in the fridge for me while I’m at work.

Another thing she does is to buy new gluten-free prducts for me to try which is what she did this week:

In general, me and GF shop-bought bread do not see eye to eye. In my experience, it’s usually crumbly and dry with all the taste of a sponge.

But a squeeze of these felt promising…

When I got one out, it looked promising…

And when it was toasted and spread with melted banana/almond butter magicness, it tasted even better!

But even the most spongelike and horrible GF bread can be made almost passable by a toaster – so the test is what it’s like as it is. I was inspired by Little Bookworm’s roasted veg sandwich and knocked up this for today’s lunch:

Slices of aubergine, dipped in egg white and sauted, with red pesto and some Phildelphia. The roll felt a bit stale even last night so I wasn’t convinced…

But it was amazing! The bread had kept an amazing soft texture and there was a lovely nutty taste to it which went perfectly with the filling flavours. Amazing lunch and all thanks to my lovely mum 🙂

I then deflated a bit when I got home and had to take the Christmas decorations down. I’d left them because I was being lazy and only took them down today because it’s supposed to be unlucky to leave them up longer than January 6!

It’s always almost sad taking them down for the year but on the positive side, have you noticed how much lighter the evenings are getting already?! That’s the best bit about this time of year and I’m already dreaming of spring… 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bread for success

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Thanks for the shout-out! 😀 Your sandwich looks amazing, and I love aubergine and pesto. Have you tried roasting the aubergine? It tastes great!

  2. It was soooo good – thanks for the idea! And no but that might have to be my next trick; sounds amazing 🙂

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Wow, those rolls look lovely. Gluten-free bread can be so hit and miss, as you say…are they vegan? I’d be so happy if they were. And which supermarket did they come from?

    Your beautiful nut buttery/jam sandwich looks just divine too.

    I’m loving the lighter evenings, though I wish the frost would clear off for good. Ah well, I suppose one day I’ll have to accept that I don’t live in Orlando and it is in fact January.

  4. I totally squeeze bread too! I can’t stand stale, crusty bread- it has to be nice, soft and chewy for me to enjoy 🙂

  5. oh that is so sweet of your mum to do that!!!

  6. I wish I could try those rolls… they look amazing!!!

  7. The melted banana/ almond butter combo sounds delish 🙂
    Today it was still lightish (well, purple sky not black) at 4pm! Getting better!

  8. that looks amazing! pesto and aubergine- is a win!

  9. Delicious looking food. I love pesto with aubergines…with anything really!!!

Thank you for commenting!

