… and in with something quite similar!

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a great time last night, whether that was out on the town, fast asleep by 11pm – or somewhere in between 🙂

I had a great night. There were 11 of us for dinner, then I went to my local for a few. It was only a few too. I’d like to claim that was because I was drinking sensibly; water in between every spirit, pacing myself etc but the sad truth is, the new landlord, in his wisdom, had decided only to employ two people behind the bar on what was always going to be a fairly busy night – when you’ve got to wait 2o minutes for a drink, you manage to stay fairly sober!

But I still felt rubbish this morning, getting up to do the horses after less than six hours’ sleep 😦 Luckily though, I managed to lunge Dave (first work he’s had for weeks) who I think must have been abducted by aliens and replaced with a well-behaved horse – very strange…

As far as food goes, I started 2011 as I mean to continue, by making a version of this “quiche” for dinner.

I sauted very thin slices of butternut and layered them in my mini baking dish. I then sauted my current favourite mix of spinach, mushrooms, tomato, garlic and a pinch of vegetable stock powder and spooned it in, followed by 3tbsp egg whites, mixed with a splash of milk and a spoonful of Philadelphia

I sprinkled grated cheese on top and baked at my default temperature of 180C for about 20 minutes.

I wasn’t 100% sure my version would work but it was delicious. I loved the butternut “crust” and the eggs went all fluffy and gorgeous – result!

I followed it with one habit that will probably stay with me into 2011:

Still in love!

How was your NYE? Are you still recovering?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to … and in with something quite similar!

  1. Loved this “quiche” recipe!
    I did a homemade zucchini+eggplant “casserole” for NYE celebrations – slices of those two veggies, tomato sauce plus a few ricotta slices and sprinkled cottage cheese. Baked.
    It turned out amazing 🙂
    Thanks for sharing, girl.
    Happy New Year, btw!
    xoxo

  2. That quiche-thing looks absolutely marvelous!! Happy new year!

  3. aahaha i love how those aren’t chocolate ‘covered’ but chocolate smothered!

  4. My NYE was very simple – I made tamales for dinner and then went to bed around 9 (that’s actually pretty late for someone who normally goes to bed between seven and eight 🙂 ).
    I’ve never made a butternut squash quiche before, but you may have just inspired me to try 🙂 .

    • I’ve just had to Google tamales – I’d never heard of them but they sound brilliant! And I’ve often been tempted to do that on NYE 🙂
      Thank you, let me know how it goes if you do!

  5. Love the sound of using butternut for pastry- I dont really like pastry anyway so this seems fab 🙂
    Also I am going to join in your addiction for chocolate covered raisins- I did not know that Thorntons did them- they must be heavenly!

  6. Little Bookworm says:

    That quiche style recipe sounds great! I had a nice new years eve, glad to hear you did too!

  7. Pingback: Life is good | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

