Breakfast are the most important meals of the day…

Hee hee.

It’s confession time.

I almost always have two breakfasts. Because I usually go up to the yard (on my bike when it’s not absolutely Baltic outside) and then come back to change for work, I’ll have one before I go and one when I get back – perfect!

I’ve been off work this week and although I’m still doing the horses, it’s been a bit later in the morning, which leaves me time to be a bit more creative…

In the form of banana pancakes! These are so easy. The recipe was like my attempt at berry pancakes but for some reason, these worked while those… ’nuff said. 🙂

I just took half a banana, mashed it to liquid and mixed it up with 2tbsp egg whites and a pinch of cinnamon. Heat a heavy frying pan until water dropped on it sizzles and dollop the mixture in.

Turn heat down a bit and only turn them over once they’re set… delicious. But of course the lack of protein/carbohydrate means you’re hungry before too long. Especially when it’s coooold outside:

Ok, it’s not snow… but it was FREEZING!

Back home for porridge 🙂

That was yesterday. Today’s second breakfast was another baked French toast. With my pb/courgette/ginger bread, 4tbsp coconut milk, 2tbsp water and 1tbsp egg white, baked at 180 for 30 minutes covered, 15 minutes uncovered.

Topped with apple puree, mixed with almond butter, vanilla and maple syrup.

Feel free to drool all over the screen – I won’t tell 🙂

Apart from (lots of) eating, I’ve been flat out this week. Dave’s FINALLY got new shoes on and, as I’m not at work, I’d hoped to do lots of riding but as the school is still frozen, I haven’t sat on him all week. Or last week 😦

But I’ve spent a fortune Christmas shopping and actually managed to resist spending any more money on myself…

Nearly….

That Meridian crunchy peanut butter is out of this world…

But at least the present pile is ever-increasing in size!

Eek! Only just over a fortnight… are you ready??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breakfast are the most important meals of the day…

  1. wow those banana pancakes sound so good! no flour or anything? just banana and egg whites?! sweet!

  2. I have the merdian smooth peanut butter and it rocks my world! I love breakfast, my favourite meal of the day too 🙂

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    Great sounding banana pancake recipe! Annoying about the weather and riding though. 😦

  4. Breakfast is by far my most favourite meal of the day! Yummy looking eats!

  5. Pingback: Adaptation, evolution, bananas and butternut | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

