Breakfast the easy way

 Since I’ve been able to eat oats again (post-coeliac diagnosis) my only regret has been that I didn’t realise it earlier. I used to eat porridge like there was no tomorrow before I was diagnosed but always in the same way, whereas now…. how much possibility there is!

Especially with an almighty great bag like this:

When I first tried the oats again, I bought the Sainsbury’s Free From ones, at 2.99 for 450g. Yeah.

Soon afterwards, however, I found that all Mornflake oats are gluten-free anyway – and that Goodness Direct sells 3kg bags for £3.66 🙂

This is only the second bag I’ve bought since June – how good is that for value?!

And I’ve used them every which way. Today’s breakfast was inspired by Fi’s gingerbread oats. Having been round to my mum’s on the rob, I was equipped with treacle. But I didn’t fancy a bowlful so I made – a gingerbread breakfast bake…

With 40g oats, 3tbsp apple puree, 1tbsp egg white, 1tsp treacle, grated ginger, vanilla and baking powder, grilled at 190C for 15 minutes…

Topped with melted/mashed banana and Dark Chocolate Dreams… Oh. My. God. No further questions, Your Honour!

And today, I’ve been making even more.

My friend, who has a very young baby, often struggles for time for meals. She really wants to eat healthily but finds it hard when she never gets five minutes to make anything! So she asked me to make her, and then show her how to make, some breakfast bars and/or muffins. That’s my kind of challenge…

First up, oat bars, take one:

Not the most flavourful! Not bad though but still…

I’ll definitely eat them but they need something spread on top and the whole point of this was to make something my friend could grab on the go. It needed to have protein, carbohydrate and taste good. So I tried again and…. success!

Preheat oven to 175C, line/grease an 8×8 baking tin and take:

200ml coconut milk (I used half-fat because it’s what I managed to steal from my mum’s cupboard!)

75g oats

20g GF cornflakes

40g dried fruit, (I used a mixture of blueberries and strawberries) chopped

75g nuts, chopped (I used a mixture of pistachios, Brazils, cashews and dessicated coconut)

2tsp each ground flax seed and hemp seed

Zest of half a lemon

40g brown sugar (optional if you haven’t got a sweet tooth!)

It’s so simple – mix everything really well together, spoon into tin and bake for about 40 minutes

Wow, so good! The different flavours and textures all work really well together and my friend was really pleased. As far as the baking time goes, I forgot to time it! But my friend and I are going to have a cooking session this week, to show her how to make these and some other bits, so I’ll edit the page then. They’re so good though as a complete breakfast, and not just for new mums either 🙂

And I’ve got to say a final word to the journalist in a certain national paper who recently wrote a piece about oats “making a comeback”. He said, and I quote: “It may not look that appealing when granddad tucks into another lumpy spoonful”.

What an eejit!

And, finally, finally, I have to include this picture… hooray!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Breakfast the easy way

  1. yum these bars look great! I love oats and incorporating them into bars!

  2. Yay for oats 🙂
    ANd yay for wrapping presents 🙂

  3. Woop! Both are definitely the way forward…!

  4. Yay – I love seeing wrapped Christmas gifts.

    Your bars sound delicious – wish you were here to make me some, but the recipe seems fairly simple. Definitely bookmarking! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Oh, and “lumpy spoonfuls” always look tasty to me. 😉

    • They’re so much more exciting when they’re wrapped!
      Thank you! I would send you some in the post but… 🙂
      I couldn’t believe that bloke had written that; my colleague passed me the paper because he knew it would annoy me 🙂

  5. Little Bookworm says:

    Love porridge – and that breakfast bake sounds amazing! The oat bars sounds great too. Yay for wrapped presents. 🙂

  6. Those bars would be heavenly with some dark chocolate dreams slathered on. Or if you’re feeling really adventurous… Nutella 😉

  7. tricia says:

    yippee for oats

    and presents 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

