Madness…

This is another post title that could apply to two things. One is that, when I got out of my car on Friday night, it was -11C. Seriously, I drove home (luckily less than a mile) with no wing mirror because it was frozen to the car!)

When I got back in it, 12 hours later, it was 4C. FIFTEEN degrees warmer – que?? No complaints though, as most of the snow has gone 🙂

And I’m deliberately not watching the weather forecast because if it’s coming back, I don’t want to know…

The other thing it could apply to was the Christmas shopping I did yesterday.

Err, I always say the best thing about Christmas shopping is buying presents for yourself…!

How warm?! And how good is Whittards flavoured coffee, especially when it’s on three-for-two 🙂

I did get quite a few presents as well! But the traffic was mental, the shops were heaving, the petrol stations were like Piccadilly Circus and the supermarket – don’t even go there. There was not a drop of fresh milk to be had which I think is more down to people’s panic-buying than the shop’s deliveries. We were only cut off for two days…!

But nothing could annoy me yesterday. I’ve never been so happy to see it pouring. Clouds? Fine. Rain? Great. Gales? Bring ’em on. Just please, please, no more SNOW!

I bought wrapping paper today so I was all set for an evening with some Christmas music on, getting into the spirit.

But first, dinner had to be made:

This is one of those “looks revolting, tastes great” creations and was inspired partly by my lentil loaves, partly by a lasagne I’ve made in the past with turkey mince…

Preheat oven to 180C and take:

1-2 medium courgettes, sliced very thinly, lengthways

65g lentils (I used red)

120g cauliflower, grated

240ml water

1tsp vegetable stock powder

1 medium tomato, chopped

50g mushrooms, diced

A HUGE handful of spinach, wilted

70-100g soft cheese (I used Philadelphia EL but ricotta would be great too)

Milk (1-2tbsp-ish)

Chopped onion, garlic powder to taste

Arrange the courgette in two layers in a greased baking dish, spray with more cooking spray, cover with foil and bake for about 20 minutes, until soft.

Meanwhile, bring the lentils, water, stock powder, cauliflower and onion to the boil, then simmer till they’ve absorbed the water and softened. Take pan off the heat and stir in spinach, tomato, mushrooms, garlic.

When the courgette’s done, take the pan out but leave the oven on. Take out the top layer, spread the lentil mixture over the top and then replace the top layer of courgette.

In a non-stick pan, mix the cream cheese, with enough milk to make a sauce consistency, over a low heat until it’s thinned and pour over the courgette and lentils.

Top with more grated cheese and put back in the oven for about 20 minutes. I turned it to grill for the last 5-ish minutes to brown the cheese.

Delicious. I’m definitely lovin’ the lentils at the moment!

No prizes for looks but you can’t have everything! I’m off to get wrapping 🙂

What’s your favourite way of cooking lentils/beans/other pulses? Are you in the Christmas spirit yet?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Madness…

  1. i love black beans and chickpeas! no i haven’t started- i need to get on that!

  2. I only started on Saturday – it’s mad how it creeps up on you! Mmm, I think beans or chick peas, blended up, would be great in this 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Hi! have just come across your blog, just wanted to say hi, i am also an avid blog reader from Kent in England, not yet a writer but we will see. I am interested in nutrition, diet, exercise and am going to university to study Nutrition next year. It’s so funny, I also bought the flavoured coffees you mentioned above from Whittards, i tell you now, they are SO AMAZINGLY GOOD. What part of Kent are you from?
    I am favourite-ing your blog from today! x

    • Hello and thank you!
      I live right out in the sticks, near Ashford… what about you? Glad to hear of someone nearby 🙂
      That sounds really interesting; if I wasn’t doing what I am, I’d love to study nutrition… hope it goes well!
      Because the Whittards coffees were on three-for-two, I did buy, er, quite a few but they’re definitely the best (I left the lid off the vanilla one and when I got home, the whole house smelt amazing…..)

      • Sarah says:

        I’m from the Canterbury area, yeah i took advantage of the deal online! Its so much fun when you order food online and you get home and see that gleaming package on your doorstep. i have vanilla, hazelnut and caramel. my god, with steamed milk they are the BEST. look forward to reading more of your posts! x

  4. ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh your boots are beautiful.

    we are notorious for buying ourselves a fun new thing right before the holidays.
    doi.

    and we finally have a gift for each of our boys. But that’s it. Better get on it!
    🙂

  5. Thank you! And sooooo warm, which is definitely the way to go…
    It’s terrible because Christmas is when you’re most likely to go shopping and of course you see stuff you like yourself! At least you’ve got the children’s though, that’s got to be the most important bit 🙂

    • Cindy says:

      yeah!…really I could just be done.

      haha
      but guilt would kick in so I’d better find a buzz lightyear toy for my brother too!

      🙂

  6. I love lentils so I’ve bookmarked that recipe as it sounds delicious! I like red lentils in stews and soups but at the moment I really enjoy brown lentils cooked with some onions in veggie stock – yum! I’m also glad I’m not the only one who buys pressies for myself while shopping for others 🙂

    • Ooh, brown lentils – haven’t tried those yet! I’ll give that a go too.
      And I’m terrible for Christmas shopping for myself – never seem to see anthing I like most of the rest of the time 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

