Going (ginger) nuts

I’m not going to moan about the weather at all today.

I’m not going to bring up ice, slush or snow. And I wouldn’t even dream of mentioning the fact it’s MINUS ELEVEN degrees outside, which is just wrong.

*Deep breath*

Anyway. 🙂

When I went away last weekend, the food was an all-round disappointment, except the breakfast provided by the hotel we stayed in. I’d taken a 9Bar and some other bits, not expecting a hotel buffet to be coeliac-friendly, but they had an amzing selection of fresh and dried fruit, so I got stuck into a bowl of pineapple, topped with dried banana chips and plump raisins. It was so delicious, I didn’t need anything else (till I got home and some porridge was calling me, obviously!)

And when I saw this, at this bargain price, in Asda the other day, I thought it would be rude not to take advantage…

With dried banana and raisins… delicious!

Especially when it’s followed by banana bread toast with jam and Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter 🙂

And, talking of bread… I had time on my hands today, owing to That Which I’m Not Going To Mention, and after I’d done a load of work at home, I saw this competition on Cook It Allergy Free. I wasn’t quite inspired enough to have a go yet but it did give me the idea of making something ginger-ish…

It’s not really that flat! I only made a mini loaf size, as I wasn’t sure how it would turn out but it was so good…

For lack of a more creative name, it’s called, er, courgette and peanut butter ginger bread  (as opposed to gingerbread!) 

Preheat oven to 180C and line a mini loaf tin

120g courgette, very finely grated

75g flour (I used the usual)

1 egg white

2tbsp peanut butter

1tbsp + 1tsp agave

1tsp baking powder

1/4-1/2 tsp freshly ground ginger

Mix everything together till well combined, scoop into the tin and level the top.

Bake for  40-45 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean and leave to cool in the tin

This is such a lovely texture; the closest I think I’ve come to “normal” bread since I’ve been gluten-free. I think adding the peanut butter (or other nut butter) is the key. This isn’t a cake at all but there’s just enough sweetness to make it perfect for toast and jam, more nut butter etc.

Yum. Don’t you just love those “try it and see what happens recipes”?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Going (ginger) nuts

  1. i love throwing thing together and hoping for the best! this was a win!

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    Sorry about the weather! That bread sounds really interesting. I love “try it and see what happens recipes”, but generally only try it with savoury meals.

    • Touch wood, almost all the snow’s gone, hooray! Fingers crossed it doesn’t come back but I’m not optimistic…
      Thank you 🙂 It was really nice – I was actually quite surprised!

  3. Pingback: Summer loving | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

