I’m (not) dreaming of a white Christmas…

Hee hee, anyone sensing a theme to these post titles…?!

None of the nasty white stuff has hit Kent yet, although other areas of England haven’t been so lucky, but it was Baltic out there today! I went to court (as a reporter not a defendant!) and although I was wearing more layers than would be thought humanly possible, I was freezing. I didn’t warm up properly all day 😦

And that made me want something warming and filling for dinner. I didn’t have time to get creative, or attempt to, with my pumpkin in honour of Thanksgiving, but I did make yet another lentil loaf:

I’d made a few changes since last time and it actually turned out as a loaf rather than a mess which is a bonus…

I’ve also made so many changes to the original delicious recipe, I’ve posted it here… enjoy!

65g dried lentils (I prefer red)

100g+ cauliflower, grated

60g courgette/carrot/a mixture of both, grated

120ml water, c. 1tsp vegetable stock powder

Big handful spinach, wilted

100g tinned tomato

About 50g ricotta/mozzarella

2tbsp egg white

Grated cheese

Chopped onion, garlic powder

Bring the lentils, cauliflower, stock powder and water to the boil. Once the water’s boiling, reduce heat and let simmer. Add the courgette/carrot and onion and continue to simmer till soft (about 15-20 minutes) I usually add some sweetcorn and/or chopped mushrooms when it’s nearly done.

Meanwhile, mix tomato, garlic, ricotta and spinach together, preheat oven to 175C and line  a loaf pan. When the lentil mix has softened, take off the heat and stir in spinach mixture and egg white, mixing well. Pour into loaf pan and sprinkle grated cheese on top. Bake for 20-ish minutes.

I prefer red to green lentils as they seem better for a loaflike consistency. Adding the egg white definitely helps it hold together too (sad to admit it but I was quite impressed by how much!)

Weird how much I love this, considering how much I used to shudder even at the thought of lentils but it fits with all my recent “discoveries” of food I used to dislike!

What do you love eating now that you hated in the past? (Or is it just me… 🙂 )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m (not) dreaming of a white Christmas…

  1. ahh i have some lentils in the pantry! this looks soo good.. i must make it!

  2. Hi, just found your blog! I live in the Kent/Greater London area too! Seemingly we share a dislike of cold weather and snow, so we’re dead lucky it hasn’t hit us yet! 😛
    The lentil loaf looks delicious! I love eating vegetables now, which I didn’t a couple of years ago. Especially spinach- I used to hate it, but now I love it! 😀

    • Cool, I used to live in Lewisham so know all that area – ish! I know, tell me about it but I think we’re going to get it big time this week… 😦 I went away this weekend up to Newbury and it was snowing on the motorway – not good…
      Thank you; it’s one of my new favourites and I love that you can just add whatever you like really! I was the same about spinach too but love it now…
      Thank you for reading!

  3. Pingback: Madness… | Eating like a horse

  4. Pingback: Summer loving | Eating like a horse

  5. Pingback: Keeping out the cold | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

