Going bananas

It’s been a beautiful day here.

It ain’t often you can say that in England in November because it’s usually a) raining b) cold c) miserable or d)all of the above 🙂 But there was blue sky up there today and, more to the point, it was really crisp. I cycled up to the yard to ride Dave and then went on a longer-than-usual route on the way home because it was the sort of day that being outside exercising feels so good.

It helps when you’ve got this to come home to of course…

I think everyone has a never-fail favourite recipe they go back to again and again and this banana bread is mine. It does as a cake, snack, whatever and I don’t think many smells beat that of cinnamon-y banana bread cooking…

I usually make it with sugar in it, as a cake but, having made normal bread from a version of this recipe, and because bananas are so sweet anyway… I tried it without and it was amazing!  If you want more of a cake, add the sugar but I think it’s great like this…

Preheat oven to 180C and line/grease a standard loaf tin.

150g flour (I used Doves Farm GF brown bread blend)

(120g caster sugar)

2 egg whites

3-ish bananas, mashed

4tbsp apple puree/natural yoghurt (I’ve used both in the past)

1.5tsp baking powder

0.5tsp bicarbonate of soda

0.5tsp cinnamon

Sieve dry ingredients together, then add everything else. Mix until just combined and spoon into the loaf tin. Bake for 50-ish minutes, until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. (Don’t do what I did and put it in the tin, realise you’ve forgotten to add the egg white and have to scoop it all back out again!)

Leave to cool for a bit then turn on to a wire rack…

Try to resist cutting till it’s cool. I had some toasted with strawberry jam:

Delicious… cake-y enough for a snack, healthy enough for breakfast! I know this lovely lady would definitely approve if I said I don’t think I’ll use the sugar again…

Have a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Going bananas

  1. Pingback: Next Post | Eating like a horse

  2. Pingback: The eagle has landed… | Eating like a horse

  3. Pingback: Attaining new heights | Eating like a horse

  4. Pingback: My new toy… | Eating like a horse

  5. Pingback: Laziness is a virtue | Eating like a horse

  6. Pingback: Vegan week recap | Eating like a horse

  7. Joanna says:

    This sounds sooooo good! I’ll be making this soon for sure, I have loads of bananas in the freezer and am going on a work trip soon so need to take some food that travels well!

  8. Thank you! Let me know how it goes if you do make it 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

