A convert

Let me intoduce my new best friend:

Yes, it’s a sock.

A knee-length cashmere sock, one of a pair my mum gave me for Christmas a few years ago. Granted, it ain’t pretty but when it was -10 outside last winter and I could come in and put these babies on…. oh yes. :-) Love ya, mum!

I also found a new and very stylish use for it this morning, when after a mental knackering week, I woke up at silly o’clock, because of the light. In despair, don’t laugh, I tied this round my eyes, consoled myself with the thought no one could see me – and slept till 9.30am. Bliss…

And let me intoduce my second new best friend:

Yep, finally got there! I’ve always disliked peanut butter, which is weird as I eat about my own weight in almond butter, on a regular basis :-)

I also love coconut butter, cashew butter, hazelnut butter… you get the picture. But pb? Not a chance. It was only when I discovered a chocolate version and liked it, I started changing my mind… but it was the cake that did it. I’ve been craving  pb ever since and when I saw the above pot at the farm shop, I was so impressed at its ingredients list (peanuts) that I bought it – and LOVED it!

I don’t know if its natural-ness puts it a cut above the ones with oil, salt, god-knows-what added but this is the daddy-o. I’ve been scooping it on to just about everything.

I made chocolate cups, mixing it with mashed banana for the filling:

And this morning, pancakes with peanut butter and strawberry jam. Oh yes. Now I get what all the fuss is about :-)

And finally, these. I made Katie’s pb balls, made thumbprints and scooped in some jam  (I used St Dalfour, which only has strawberries, grape and lemon juice in it – amazing)

Wow – oat-y, peanut butter-y, jammy delicousness, woop!

Now I’ve just got to stop myself scoffing the rest of the pot down in one go (although there ain’t a huge amount left already!)

What’s the best thing you’ve ever made with nut butter…?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A convert

  1. Aww they look so yummy! But your chocolate banana cups sound even MORE amazing!! Holy yumminess!
    Happy Saturday, sweetie!

  2. They were (were being the word; they weren’t around for long!) but I don’t think you can ever argue with a nut butter/chocolate/banana combination! And the jam addition is delicious… :-)
    Thank you! Hope you’re having a brilliant weekend x

  3. Pingback: Hug a Vegetarian

Thank you for commenting!

