Mother knows best!

When I was little, I used to tell my mum a lot that I didn’t like things. Her answer was usually: “You don’t know you don’t like it if you haven’t tried it”. But I knew. To be fair, when it came to Brussels sprouts, Ribena or this nasty pair of polka-dot jeans she bought me, I was right 🙂 

But, as is so often the case with mum-speak, with hindsight, she was generally right, especially bearing in mind I “didn’t like” mushrooms, broccoli or squash as a child and they’re now three of my favourite foods!

Another combination I used to shudder to think of was peanut butter and jam. It just seemed wrong! But as a recent (partial) peanut butter almost-convert and a full-on member of other nut butters’ fan clubs, I thought it was worth a go.

I toasted a piece of my butternut “kind-of” cornbread, cut it in half and spread one bit with almond butter and the other with Meridian unsweetened apricot jam and what can I say… as usual, Mum, you were right 🙂 I really should have tried it before…

Is there anything you used to hate eating as a child and now couldn’t be without? (Or is it just me?!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother knows best!

  1. Hey Girl,
    thanks for leaving a comment on my site awhile back 🙂
    I LOVE the photo of you and your horse !
    I can’t believe you didnt like PB&J, it’s one of my favorite combos!
    I always used to hate spinach, but now I go through a one pound bag per week.

    • Thank you very much! He’s a stunner, bless him, although he doesn’t look too special at the moment with his shaggy winter look…!
      I know, I should hang my head in shame! I love other nut butters but only just coming round to the pb when I discovered a chocolate version… I’m getting there though, with perseverance 🙂

Thank you for commenting!

