Another birthday – another cake!

Happy Monday!

It was a happy one for me today which ain’t usually the case 🙂

But I managed to sleep for more than 11 hours on Saturday night, which is almost unheard-of (loving the fact the clocks went back) and I’m still feeling the benefits!

Plus, when there’s a chocolate cake in the room, who isn’t happy?

It was our lovely receptionist Wendy’s birthday and I wanted to make her a cake she really liked and, as she loves peanut butter almost more than life itself, I knew what to use!

I considered a chocolate/peanut butter cake but then thought it would be better to use a chocolate cake but with pb filling so the flavour didn’t get lost. I made one of my light chocolate cakes but used 40g pb with 60g Philadelphia (instead of 100g Philadelphia) in the filling.

I made half quantities of the dangerous icing ( 🙂 ) which wasn’t quite enough but was still deeeeelicious… Next time, 3/4 quantities, definitely! I then decorated it with peanut M&Ms to complete the theme.

The pb went brilliantly with the chocolate (even for a non-pb fan like me!) I used crunchy but smooth would be great too and it made a really creamy filling. Wendy loved it and was really touched, bless her.

I also had a brilliant dinner when I got home…

A version of Heather’s lentil loaf, (last night’s helping in the picture but there was enough for two dinners)

I made half quantities, as it’s only me, subbing 100g grated cauliflower for the rice (this could have something to do with the fact it’s a mess not quite what you’d call a loaf!)

I also used tinned sweetcorn instead of frozen and, as I only had about 1tsp parmesan left, I added extra mozarella, chopped very finely. It was so, so good and SO filling! I’ve never really been into lentils – but I am now, thanks Heather!

Have a great week… I’m going to bed early tonight as I’m loving the novelty of not feeling knackered during the week 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Another birthday – another cake!

  1. I agree, sleep is SO important. If I don’t get enough, I’m not myself. Everything is harder to deal with and I can’t think clearly. There’s no real substitute for it! I may have to make that lentil loaf – yum! I never judge a dish by how it looks, so many of mine have turned out looking pretty “interesting” but still tasting good – unfortunately, my husband is big on presentation so that can be a problem sometimes. 😉

    • And it’s weird how you get so used to being tired that when you’re not it’s brilliant – but so different! Stupidly though, I felt so non-tired, I went to bed late last night and undid the good work 🙂
      I’d definitely recommend the loaf, it was lovely, and I always think that, as it all ends up in the same place when you’ve eaten it, it doesn’t matter what it looks like… could be a problem if your husband’s different but surely with his presentation and your good-tasting food, you’re on to a winner between you!

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    That cake looks amazing! 🙂

  3. That cake looks so delicious!

  4. Pingback: Food, glorious food! | Eating like a horse

  5. Pingback: Nice to meat you | Eating like a horse

  6. Pingback: A convert | Eating like a horse

  7. Pingback: I’m (not) dreaming of a white Christmas… | Eating like a horse

  8. Pingback: A few good things | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

