If at first you don’t succeed…

 … sulk, swear and kick something. Always works 🙂

Or, I suppose, you could try something slightly completely different…

It all started with my courgette bread. It was tiny so I tried again – and it fell apart. I then changed tack and tried a kind of courgette/cornbread polenta. Thing.

Again, it worked, sort of, in that I made passable sandwiches out of the result but, hmmm… it wasn’t great and, eventually, I forgot about it… then, last week, I tried the cornbread thing again with cooked, pureed butternut:

 I was off work so not taking sandwiches so I forgot about it until I found it hiding in the fridge this week – and made sandwiches out of it. Encouraged, I tried again and it worked! Convinced I’d cracked it, (and having a can of pumpkin to use, which made it so much easier than cooking the butternut!) I made it again, exactly the same… and it didn’t work. Grrr…

Still, I thought, the combination could be the way forward so I tried once more, cooked it differently and……. success! This is in no way a bread in any conventional sense. Nor is it a cornbread, nor anything like the original courgette bread 🙂

But it holds together, it tastes nice, I’ve had it in sandwiches and for breakfast and it’s got only two ingredients (three if you’re being picky and count the water!) which makes it a winner in my book…

50g polenta (mine’s the quick-cook stuff)

70g pumpkin or cooked and pureed squash

160ml water

Bring the water to the boil on the stove, then add the polenta in a steady stream, whisking it in. Keep whisking, to avoid lumps, until it’s pulling away from the sides of the pan. Pour in the pumpkin and whisk till it’s well combined.

Pour mixture into a lined pan. (I used an 11×8 roasting pan but anything will do; it’s not going in the oven but just to give a shape) Once it’s cooled enough, which doesn’t take long, put pan into the fridge to set (also doesn’t take long).

Once it’s set, heat a frying pan sprayed with cooking spray over a medium heat, put in the polenta slices and cook for a few minutes before you turn them over.

Be warned, they’re more delicate after you start cooking them than before for some reason! As this picture shows… 🙂

Once they’re nicely browned on both sides, take out and enjoy!

I had some for breakfast today, with my favourite mashed/microwaved banana/almond butter blend. Mmmmmmmm…… but have also made tomorrow’s sandwiches from it too.

Like I said, this might not be be everyone’s cup of tea but I like it! You can leave the set polenta in the fridge for a day or two until you’re ready to saute it too… And I’ve put some of the slices in the freezer, for this week’s sandwiches.

I also ran out of pumpkin on the last batch so I used half apple puree instead. I’ve yet to saute or taste that one yet but I’ll let you know!

Edit – I sent this picture to myself from work on purpose for a Halloween post – and forgot to put it up! Look at his face… Thanks to the local animal park’s press office for that one 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. Tina says:

    Things like that always happen to me in the kitchen. I’m lucky when things turn out well the first time. LOL

  2. Pingback: Food, glorious food! | Eating like a horse

  3. Pingback: Mother knows best! | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

