Sticky situations

Have you ever had that sinking feeling from agreeing to something you really don’t want to do? Yeah.

A press officer from the fire brigade rang today to ask if we wanted to cover the launch of some new equipment. I said yes and was booking a photographer when she asked if I wanted to go and “help test” the equipment. I’m always up for doing different things like that so I said yes. Then she told me what I’d be doing. The conversation went something like this:

Press officer, chirpily: “…so they’ll use the new boat to pull you out of the water…”

Me, not so chirpily: “What?”

PO: “You’ll be in the lake and they’ll use the new rescue boat to get you out.”

Me: “In the what?!”

That’s right. I’m going to spend a Thursday morning in the wrong end of October in a lake in Kent. Dear. Lord. Above. It’s going to be FREEZING! Never mind her promise “we’ll get you a dry suit… and a cup of tea afterwards” it is going to be hell ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And, I found out later, that afternoon, I’ve got to present a prize to the winner of a competition we ran. and have my picture taken. For the paper.ย Can Photoshop get rid of mud and lake weed?! I hope so, or we’re going to lose a LOT of readers…)

It was lucky I had such lovely food to take my mind off it…

My granola came into play again this morning…

But I didn’t just sprinkle it this time, oh no. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’d made some plain porridge the night before and I put half that in a bowl. I took half a banana and mashed it, microwaved it and mixed it with 1tsp almond butter (always a winning combination) and spread half that on top of the porridge, followed by a layer of granola, followed by another layer of each. Very nice…

I also had a lovely lunch waiting for me. I kept thinking of it as my version of a BLT but it didn’t actually have the B. Or the L. Or, in fact, the T… ๐Ÿ™‚

It was one of my courgette pittas, with grilled turkey “bacon” rashers, mayonnaise and some raw red cabbage… so not a BLT in any way, shape or form! But none the worse for that…

Dinner was some sauted halloumi (love it!) with garlic-roasted butternut chunks, mushroom and red onion and a mountain of steamed broccoli, asparagus, leeks, green beans and red cabbage.

Very, very nice. And I get a psychic feeling some plain chocolate-coated raisins (current addiction) may well be shovelled in later ๐Ÿ™‚

With deliciousness like this, I managed to take my mind off what Thursday’s got in store, kind of… it helps slightly that, as one of my colleagues pointed out, surely being “rescued” means it could be that the rescuer is a fit, well-muscled, handsome fireman… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Every cloud, as they say. every cloud…!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sticky situations

  1. I hope the fireman is hot! You sound like you will need some warming up ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Then again, how many people can say they’ve been rescued from a lake?! Seriously though, respect to you for rising to the challenge. The more boring people in life would’ve just said no. And from a bloggy perspective – it will certainly make for interesting reading!
    Wishing you luck (and looking forward to reading about it) !!
    xxx

    • Thank you very much! Nice to know you think that; when I came off the phone and told my colleagues they all looked at me as if I was mad (maybe not because of that though ๐Ÿ™‚ )
      At least I’ll enjoy writing about it, both on here and for work, and fingers crossed for a hot one! x

  2. Pingback: A promise… | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

