Autumn days when the grass is jewelled…

…and the silk inside the chestnut shell! That song takes me straight back to primary school, singing it in assembly – all year round, weirdly.

And although there are BAD bits about autumn (calling the song “Autumn days when the grass is drenched and it’s too dark to see it anyway” wouldn’t have quite the same ring to it 🙂 ) there are so many GOOD things.

You just don’t see that light at any other time of year. Because it’s low, it’s really golden and seeing the sun coming across the field and catching the colours in the hedges… beautiful. There’s also misty evenings, crisp mornings that give you loads of energy… and food! 😉

Not that I don’t gobble down squash, apples, etc all year round but they’re better at this time of year… I went to my mum’s the other day and she was roasting veg like there was no tomorrow. Inspired, I went home and roasted my own.

 

This picture does not do it justice at all. I cut chunks of butternut squash, baby turnips and carrots, sprinkled them with garlic powder and roasted them with two baby red onions for about 20 minutes at 175C. About five minutes before I took them out, I chucked in some sliced mushrooms and then, at the very last minute, some prawns.

A random mixture but SO good. The squash had caramelised and the taste was amazing. With my usual mountain of steamed vegetables, this was a seasonal dinner to remember. But it, and the amazing seasonal fruit on offer at the moment, inspired me to do something else, which hopefully I’ll have time for tomorrow…!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for commenting!

