Something different

Sunday was definitely different.

Not just sun but actual warmth (as long as you were in a sheltered corner) – I even got a triangle of almost-sunburn! Not that sunburn’s cool, kids, don’t go there…

It was different again yesterday in that it was cold again, and apparently we’re going to get frost this weekend – so moving smartly on to something else different from normal:

When I saw my mum last Monday, she was cooking something leeky, garlicky and oniony and it smelt so good, I had to do the same at home. It was just warming a tiny bit of butter, adding onions and garlic, then loads of chopped leek and leaving it to sweat until beautifully softened.

My mum had also given me some cooked gammon, which I chopped and added to the pan at the end. It was lovely, especially with the spinach mixed with soft cheese on the side. So lovely, in fact, that I had almost exactly the same thing the next night :-)

Also different, and in a much more exciting way, was this:

I walked on actual fire – at 1,236 degrees Farenheit – on Friday night!

I posted last January that I hoped to do a firewalk but it never happened. So as soon as I found out they were holding it this year instead, I hot-footed it (geddit?) to get my name on that list.

It was truly such a brilliant thing to do. There are physical reasons why you don’t get burnt (you walk briskly so your feet aren’t in contact with the coals long enough for heat to transfer, wood’s a poor conductor and the moisture of your skin evaporates to form a tiny bit of protecting steam) but standing in front of a 20-foot burning pathway, knowing it’s hotter than the melting point of aluminium… I don’t think you’d just run up and do it.

So they do a two-hour Learn or Burn (seriously) workshop beforehand, using neuro-linguistic programming techniques, basically positive visualisation, etc, to get you into such an up-for-it mood that by the time you get out there in front of all those cheering people, you’re desperate to do it.

My legs were like jelly afterwards but in such a brilliant way, it was amazing.

And, it has to be said, much more different than gammon, however nice that dinner was :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Something different

  1. Jess says:

    Wow! What an amazing thing to do :D

    I would really love to try something like that – I’d probably chicken out at the last minute though as I was one of ‘those’ kids who get to the top of a rollercoaster and start yelling that they want to get off!

    xxx

    • I’m like that with rollercoasters now! I don’t think you would on this though; I worried I’d just freeze but you’re so fired up (sorry) by the time you get out there, there’s no stopping to think! It was brilliant :-) xx

  2. Mary says:

    Eek! Not sure I would be ‘desperate to do it’ after a workshop. I would probably need to turn up, get tricked into signing up and have to do it straight away before I changed my mind! It’s pretty awesome to say that you have walked on fire though and I love that you get a poster as evidence to brag about it afterwards! :) I’ve never seen anything like this advertised anywhere, but my boyfriend would love something like this…I shall have to be on the lookout!

  3. runningcupcake says:

    How exciting, well done! Although not sure I would ever sign up for something like that! My friends did a sponsored one last year but they wouldn’t tell us the secret (and I suppose I could have googled it…).

  4. That sounds like it was fun and different!

  5. Nicole says:

    Wow. Congrats on making it through!

  6. Oh wow that’s definitely different! Sounds really crazy, but strangely fun.
    Love the sound of the gammon meal. I adore gammon (usually with pineapple and chips at a pub…) but it’s leeks and onion and the spinach, it sounds really yummy.

  7. Wow that is amazing! Good for you I bet it was an amazing experience!

Thank you for commenting!

