Green-fingered

That’s something I’m definitely not.

Put it this way, I was quite pleased with myself for keeping an orchid alive for a good few years – till I read somewhere that they “thrive on neglect”.

I tried to grow carrots a couple of years ago and when I thinned them out, I thought it was such a waste, I tried to replant the thinned ones. It didn’t work.

I normally leave that sort of thing to my dad but when I was off the other week, I found myself in a garden centre attached to a horsey shop, which had a display entitled “Plant now!” I did as I was told, buying spinach and pak choi, then raking and digging industriously (but ineffectively, given my lack of trowel and rake)

And a few weeks later…

They’re coming up!

The slugs are loving it, I’m slightly perplexed as to why I’ve got two big spinach plants, two small and a few tiny seedlings out of two long rows (possibly something to do with my not bothering to water very often) but they’re growing! It’s very exciting.

The spinach is “perpetual” too, which I’m hoping is more what it sounds like than the everlasting cookies

And there’s one more growing thing, which I can’t take credit for as it’s seeded itself in the alley between my house and the one next door:

Wild strawberries! No idea how they got there or which bugger stripped the plant bare of fruit the day I took this picture, but I managed to get another harvest of them today, more than shown here :-)

Yes, that’s a side plate. They’re tiny – but they do say the best things come in small packages.

I’ll have time to do some active gardening this week too (get me!) as I’m off work…

But let’s be honest, other than eating the spinach, I probably won’t :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Green-fingered

  1. Love how cute those strawberries are! I wouldn’t say that I am green fingered either but I do love pottering in the garden.

  2. I always think that I’d like gardening, but I’ve never really given it a try. My Dad is green-fingered, so I need to ask him to give me a few tips!

  3. Jess says:

    Aww, such lovely baby strawberries!

    I think when you grow something yourself it automatically tastes better, and looks nicer :) It must be great to have green fingers – mine are decidedly black!

    xxx

    • They were so sweet and delicious; much nicer than the ones you get in the shops… I can’t take credit for growing them though, don’t know how they got there!
      And it is better when you grow it yourself, I think I’m too lazy though :-)

  4. I still sometimes wish I had made more of an effort with my allotment but that was just not going to happen, the best I can manage is my windowsill herbs!

    • An allotment’s even more of a time and effort commitment though and with everything else you do, I’m not surprised you couldn’t fit in!
      Windowsill herbs are cool though; lovely to just cut them fresh for cooking :-)

  5. Dannii says:

    It is so exciting when things from your garden actually start to grow. I don’t like thinning things out, seems like such a waste, but that might be where I go wrong sometimes. Although we had loads of lettuce this year.

  6. Wild berries are delicious!
    I have 0 green thumb and also leave it to my dad. He gave me a few basil plants that at this point in the Summer, are done.

    • They’re so much nicer aren’t they; can’t believe they’d just seeded themselves next to a drainpipe!
      and yep, I usually leave it to my dad too; he’s so much better at it than I am :-)

  7. AnnaTheApple says:

    Ahh I’m so jealous of people being able to grow stuff, especially veg! I literally am the worst gardener ever. I managed to overwater our orchid…it’s dead now :( Congrats on your produce, the berries are so cute!

  8. I love to spend time in the garden too- I am not green fingered either (but luckily Andy is much better)- but it is very satisfying when something grows.
    I love wild strawberries- so much sweeter than normal ones :)

    • They’re so much sweeter aren’t they?!
      And I’d like to live with someone who was into growing things; I could dabble a bit but I’m too lazy to do it all – and I could still reap the benefits ;-)

  9. I don’t have the best green thumb, but surprisingly this year, I’ve got two tomato plants, a pepper plant, and a ginormous mint plant that are still alive. Wild strawberries are the best!

    • I bet home-grown peppers are amazing, might have to try that next year if I get carried away with this year’s success!
      And the strawberries were just so flavourful; just a shame there weren’t more”

  10. Hahaha aww they’re so cute!!! it’s just too bad you don’t have more!

Thank you for commenting!

