It’ll be all white

… and gold, of course. Yesterday’s results were brilliant; some people are calling it the biggest day for British sport ever – and what about Jessica Ennis? She came into the competition as Britain’s poster girl, with all the hype,  but she didn’t let the pressure get to her and won by a huge margin; that’s true superstardom, in my opinion.

The showjumping’s been good for us too; at the end of today’s competition, we’re lying in second place with only four faults, although I won’t be able to watch it tomorrow, as I’m sure it won’t be on BBC1 and that’s the only channel we’ll get at work :-(

If I’m permitted a clanging name-drop though, I had a lesson once with Ben Maher, who’s jumped fantastically so far, once on Dave:

If you could forgive my leg position, I’d appreciate it :-)

As well as watching the Olympics and riding, I’ve got my bake on this weekend:

Which is where the white (chocolate) comes in; I’m a bit obsessed with it at the moment! I made white chocolate ice cream for my goddaughter’s birthday last week, I tried caramelising it using this technique but obviously used too poor a quality chocolate as it just cooked… it still tasted delicious though :-)

But when I saw this at a really reduced price in the Factory Shop last week, I just had to.

For this cake, for a colleague’s birthday tomorrow, I used this sponge recipe and filled it with raspberry jam and buttercream, 40g softened butter, whisked with 20g melted white chocolate, then 80g sieved icing sugar whisked in. I topped it with this white chocolate ganache and although I’ve had no feedback yet, I’m hoping it’ll go down well.

Raspberry and white chocolate are perfect together, in my humble opinion, although raspberries are just good full stop:

It’s been cold enough for a return to porridge, this past week, although it’s supposed to get better, fingers crossed!

Have a great week :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’ll be all white

  1. I think Jess did so well- I was worried for her because the media seemed to be assuming that she would win it easily, but she performed so well- it is all just so exciting!!!

  2. The picture of the horse jumping is awesome! Raspberry and white chocolate is a good combination, but I think my favourite chocolate/fruit combo would be dark chocolate and green apple!

  3. Haven’t the Olympics just been fab! Love that cake, I’ve had a bit of a white choc craving going on and that looks very good!

  4. Nicole says:

    I enjoyed watching the track event when Mo Farah won. The look on his face was priceless!

  5. Jessica says:

    Raspberries and white chocolate are a match made in heaven: the perfect balance of tart and sweet.

    I loved watching Jess Ennis – it was a bit weird in some ways to hear chants of ‘come on Jess’ left right and centre. If I closed my eyes I could imagine I was running the marathon and they were for me haha (definitely in my dreams).

    xxx

    • That’s exactly it and they did go perfectly in the cake; it didn’t hang around long!
      It must have been weird for you, didn’t think of that but might be you in the marathon before too long :-) xx

  6. The Olympics have been awesome, your cake looks divine!

  7. Mmm white chic with vanilla? That sounds divine. The cake looks so tasty. I’m so proud to be British right now, it’s just crazy how well we’re doing. Really inspiring!

  8. Kailey says:

    I’ve always liked white chocolate more than regular chocolate….even though it isn’t really chocolate :) haha but the cake looks great!

  9. Dannii says:

    That chocolate sounds amazing – I am going to have to hunt some out!

  10. Errign says:

    Can I come over for cake? Looks good!

  11. I have so loved watching the Olympics. That’s you on the horse??? SO COOL!!!!! Great looking cake. Go Team GB! (and Canada!)

  12. Pingback: A great British bake-off weekend | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

