Relay and raspberries

Well the legs have now recovered – finally :-)

It was a bit incongruous really, watching someone running with the Torch on Wednesday while I was hobbling around – but it was great.

The town was packed and everyone seemed to be enjoying it. The sponsors’ trucks were a bit random but I loved the atmosphere, and all the Union Flags and streamers, and also the way the police on motorbikes with the convoy were joining in the fun; pretending to race the random-men-on-stilts and run them over, playing to the crowds. Police ususally seem to think they’re far too important for that sort of frivolity so it was really good to see.

As far as the second half of the post title goes, it’s all about my dad’s raspberry bushes, which have been going chicken oriental/Radio Rentals/any other Cockney rhyming slang for “mental” you care to mention. So of course, like the dutiful daughter I am, I’ve been helping him use them. Aren’t I great?!

First up, pancakes.

I hadn’t made these ground almond/raspberry pancakes since last summer and had forgotten how good they are. I added 3-4 drops of almond extract too, which made them even more stupendously delicious :-)

Also, a new one:

I cooked oats in almond milk and stirred in the fruit and  a couple of drops of almond extract at the end. Really tasty and such a beautiful colour.

And of course this is always a winner:

My mum’s made raspberry jam and raspberry ice cream (both amazing) and they’re still going strong! I’m thinking a sorbet could be good – has anyone got any other good ideas for using raspberries?

Hope you’re having a great weekend :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Relay and raspberries

  1. Ameena says:

    I randomly found your blog through the HLB directory…I couldn’t believe it when I saw “Kent!” Just came back from there…love it. Love the UK! So envious you get to live there.

    Have a great weekend too!

  2. Those pancakes look fantastic! I am loving summer berries at the moment. They are perfect with this sunshine we have been having!

  3. Looks like a great day for the relay! I love raspberry vanilla smoothies at the moment they are delicious!

  4. Those pancakes look amazing! :) I love fresh raspberries, and they also go with white chocolate- so raspberry and white chocolate scones are good?

  5. AnnaTheApple says:

    Mmm the pancakes look good. Raspberry and rhubarb crumble is a winner, though not really that seasonal but still yummy.

  6. I’m working my way through a 10 pound box of blueberries….I love the fresh summer berries!

  7. Hannah says:

    Thank you for reminding me how incredible almond extract is! :)

  8. Oh my gosh, those are some beautiful pancakes! And raspberry and almond?? I love that flavor combo–I wish I had parents with some raspberry bushes, haha. Mine DO have blueberries which are just as much of a treat, but they’re already over for the season :(

  9. Oh how fun!!! I remember how exciting it was to watch the torch relay here in Vancouver in 2010. So exciting you got to see it. (love the guy on the “bouncy shoe stilt thingies. I admire him, I know I’d fall off if I tried to move on them!) I would get on a plane for some of those pancakes too!!! :) I wish. Have a great Monday. Enjoy all the Olympic excitement!!!

    • They make it look so easy but I know I wouldn’t even be able to get upright on those stilts! I’d quite like to have a go one day – on a soft surface… :-)
      And thank you, he Torch is brilliant isn’t it and I can’t wait till the opening ceremony on Friday!

  10. That does look fun! Great post!

  11. Caroline says:

    Those pancakes look delicious! I need to try almond extract

Thank you for commenting!

