Sore legs and peanut butter cookies

Ouch.

I went to Body Pump yesterday morning, the first time for months. I used to love going but really didn’t like the new release that came out in October. It made me feel I’d really done some damage to my neck afterwards and added to a general disinclination to give up Saturday morning lie-ins, ie laziness, I stopped going.

I didn’t think the release I did yesterday was as good as last summer’s (I especially used to like the Raise Your Glass track and the one near the end with a song going on about Mombasa and jungles – does anyone else know which one I mean?!) but it was nice to do it again.

I’d been planning to do Pilates for ages too and had finally found one nearby and at a good time (7pm on a weekday) so I went to that. I thought it would be really good for riding because it helps balance and core strength but also thought it would be a nice, chilled hour, good to stretch after the hard work that morning – I was wrong.

It was actually really hard work, with planks, press-ups and all sorts – and combined with the Body Pump, it meant I’m really feeling it today :-)

I loved the Pilates though, and I could feel how it’ll really help with riding so hopefully, I’ll be able to keep going every week.

As well as that yesterday, plus enduring the miserable rain and womanfully resisting the urge to turn the heating on, I got baking:

I used this recipe for peanut butter cookies and clearly did something wrong (probably lost in translation from the American cup measures) because the batter I made… well let’s just say rolling it into a log wasn’t an option :-)

Instead, I dolloped it straight on to a baking sheet, baked until the cookies looked ready-ish and ended up with something which looks nothing like it should have done – but was crunchy, crispy and tasty anyway.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow, as I’m going to see the Olympic Torch. I’m almost sorry to be off this week (but not quite) as it’ll be passing within spitting distance of my office… but I’m only 20 minutes’ drive from another part of the route and I wouldn’t miss the chance to see it.

Hopefully the weather will be better than that though :-)

Have you done Pilates? Or seen the Torch pass through yet? Only just over a week to go till the Olympics!

Torch pic from London 2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sore legs and peanut butter cookies

  1. I’m not surprised you are exhausted after 2 really intense classes, although it’s great that you managed to survive both of them. Those peanut butter cookies look lovely!

  2. I’m so excited that you’ll get to see the Torch! Wow! So happy that London got the games! Can’t wait to watch although a lot of them will be while we’re away and I’m not sure what kind of TV access we’ll have. Enjoy!

  3. Dannii says:

    I am obsessed with anything with peanut butter in them at the moment. I made some peanut butter granola bars the other day and I think someone might have to hide them from me.

  4. Jessica says:

    Pilates done ‘right’ can be very challenging indeed. Three years ago I found an amazing pilates class at a council gym, but sadly it was the only decent class they did so I switched my membership to a different place and I wasn’t about to pay the extortionate price for an individual class. Anyway, it is still the only class to date to make my abs legitmately hurt, and ache for a good few days afterwards.

    I do remember the Body Pump song you mean – it was a cracking shoulder track!

    xxx

    • I’m glad to hear you say that; you’re so fit that for you to say it’s challenging means I wasn’t being a wimp! It’s a shame there aren’t more neear you; I loved it and will definitely go back… I’m almost half-thinking about joinging this gym as it’s only 10 minutes’ drive from my house and all the classes are really good… it’s just so expensive!
      And shoulders, that was the one, I’m glad you remember it too… I loved doing that track, moving as if you were doing archery, in a weird way… :-)

  5. runningcupcake says:

    I remember that song! I am sure it named all sorts of African cities like Nairobi?
    I saw the torch when I was up in the peak district and I was glad I did (not liking all the corporate trucks though)- enjoy :)

    • That’s it! I’d never heard it before Body Pump but it was perfect for that track.
      I know what you mean about all the trucks and commercial-ness, like the way some of the Torchbearers are just top execs, but it was brilliant to see it :-)

  6. I’ve done reformer pilates, but not regular pilates. Those cookies look delicious, there is nothing like a good old classic like peanut butter :)

  7. Yum! I love peanut butter cookies! Even if they didn’t turn out as expected, they still look good!

  8. Hannah says:

    I remember going to see the torch pass through Canberra back when the Olympics were held in Sydney! And yay for peanut butter!

  9. Oh bless your DOMS!! I really wanted to see the torch but the weather was appalling when it was in the North East unfortunately, hope you enjoy it!

  10. Errign says:

    I’ve never done pilates but always meant to try!

  11. Kailey says:

    I’m not allowed to do pilates after a cyst formed on my tailbone :( I used to love it though!

Thank you for commenting!

