Hail fellow, well met

It was hailing today.

It’s 11C, it’s also been alternating between gale-force winds and rain so heavy you can hardly see through it – and apparently, there’s the chance of ground frosts in northern areas tonight. And it’s July.

Apparently, April, May and June have been the wettest and coldest since 1910 and I want to know who to write a strong letter of complaint to- the Met Office? The Government? God?!

Hmmph.

But on to cake:

The white chocolate mousse cake I made for a colleague’s birthday, on Monday. It was all about the mousse filling as the cake itself was a plain fatless sponge. I was interested to see what it was like as instead of whisking the yolks and whites separately, it was made by beating the whole eggs (and the sugar) in a food processor for 5+ minutes… but it was just average, to be honest :-)

The mousse was made with white chocolate and double cream and although I struggled to keep my fingers out of it in liquid form, once whipped, it tasted much more like cream, which I’m not keen on. Overall, it was all right but not one I’ll make again. And although people at work liked it, they liked these much more:

Yes, I am an adult. And yes, those are chocolate cornflake cakes. I blame Jess :-)

She left a comment on this post, in which I mentioned Bakewell tarts, about enjoying cornflake tarts when she was a child. Although I don’t know whether it was this sort, I suddenly realised I had cereal I wasn’t going to eat and also some leftover Easter egg chocolate (I’m not that saintly, I’d like to add, it’s just there’s always been better chocolate around!)

I melted one ingredient and mixed the other in, scooped dollops into mini cake cases, left to set, licked the spatula to within an inch of its life – and then watched amazed at work as they disappeared more quickly than anything I’ve ever taken in.

I made more the next day and the same thing happened and although it’s always nice when people enjoy what you’ve made, I’m not sure it’s entirely a compliment that my most popular culinary creation was something a three-year-old could make… :-)

And as this post seems to be slightly on the unhealthy side, what with the chocolate and double cream and all, here are some vegetables:

That balances it out nicely, I feel :-)

Have you had any summery hail or frost? What’s been your most unexpected culinary success?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Hail fellow, well met

  1. Alexandra says:

    Oh man I’m sure your colleague went bonkers for that amazing looking cake– you’re quite the baker if I do say so myself! :D
    hahaha and I like your healthy balance in the post with the random veggie cameo heehee ;)

  2. AnnaTheApple says:

    Ahh chocolate crispy cakes are the best! A definite crowd pleaser and so easy to make. The weather in England has been terrible, even in the South where I live. Rubbish!

  3. That is one fun looking cake!

  4. runningcupcake says:

    Cornflake cakes are the best! A few weeks ago I made rice crispie ones, (with pb added in) and they were gone very quickly!

  5. I know, I had the heating on yesterday!!! However we have sun today and I am celebrating by wearing a dress with bear legs, bugger it if it rains later I’m making the most of it! Cake looks amazing!

  6. Too funny with the veggies at the end!! The cake looks delicious and I never heard of the cornflake cakes, but I wouldn’t say no if you put one on my plate!! ;-)

  7. Jessica says:

    Ugh. The weather is just taking the mick right now. Less said about it the better!

    I love cornflake krispie cakes! The cornflake tart I mentioned was this type: http://hungryjenny.blogspot.co.uk/2009/09/friday-pie-day-honey-nut-cornflake-tart.html

    but krispie cakes are good too :) I loved cornflake tart and apple crumble (both with custard – no lumps!) when I was little – strange that neither of my favourite desserts then involved chocolate or PB…

    Haha, that last bit made me laugh. I’m eating loads of courgettes and aubergines at the moment!

    xxx

    • I’ve checked them out and they look amazing too, might have to be my next project! Apple crumble with custard has to be one of my all-time favourites, up there with banoffee pie and I’m the same now; all my favourite puddings are chocolate-free, weirdly!

  8. I wondered if the weather in England had been more winter-like than summer-like when I noticed that everyone at Wimbledon appeared bundled up in warm clothes.

  9. The cake looks so good! The weather has been getting on my nerves. Right now it it sunny here but then it clouds over a few minutes later, annoying!¬

  10. Well, at least it’s a pretty cake! And I feel like even an average cake is, well, cake, so you can’t go too wrong :D Love the cornflake tarts–and yeah, chocolate will survive around my house too, but only if better options are available…

  11. Errign says:

    I like the vegetables throw in there :)

    We never ever get summer hail/frost, but we always get one day in either March or April that is like 90 degrees, every year.

  12. Kailey says:

    Sorry to hear about the hail!! Hail always scares me since we leave my car outside – I don’t want any dents! haha

    • I know what you mean but this wasn’t solid enough to do any damage and it turned to rain later, luckily… I say “luckily” but the rain wasn’t exactly welcomed either :-)

  13. do you work where I work?! I take in baked goods every Tue & the day I took in choc crackles was the day everyone RAN to the cake tin :)
    The mousse cake looks AMAZING.

  14. Pingback: Back to normal | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

